Double objectives in play

By Braider, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

If you have duplicate objectives in play, can you play the effect an additional time or only once per turn?

Ex: Fleeing the Empire (After you refresh, place 1 shield on a target unit or objective you control)………can I do this twice or only once?

Ex: Mission Briefing (After your opponent's turn begins, draw 1 card.)

Ex: Forgotten Heroes (After you play a Force User unit, draw 1 card)…..if I have two in play…..can I draw 2 cards?

There are others as well….

I mainly play lightside but I am sure others would question dark side as well.

I have been playing that we can only use the text once.


My take: Nothing in the rules says you CANNOT do this. And since there is specific text that limits certain cards to "one per deck", that would imply that cards without this text are each resolved completely.

There also card effects that explicity state you can only use them once per turn, making it reasonable to assume that duplicate cards have all their effects go off. Otherwise there'd be no need for a "once per turn" stipulation.

Each card can use its reaction once per triggering event. So two of the same objective in play means the effect can happen twice.

As others have pointed out, yes, each objective card triggers independently.

DailyRich said:

There also card effects that explicity state you can only use them once per turn, making it reasonable to assume that duplicate cards have all their effects go off. Otherwise there'd be no need for a "once per turn" stipulation.

I may be misunderstanding you, but I think the reason ("once per turn") is listed on most persistent cards is for balance purposes when the triggering condition might occur more than once per turn or when it might be possible to use the ability more than once per turn as opposed to limiting that effect from occurring more than once per turn if multiple copies of the same card effect are in play.

That's a confusing statement, so here's a brief example to clarify what I mean:

The Secret of Yavin 4

Interrupt: When 1 of your other objectives is engaged, your opponent engages this objective instead. (Limit once per turn.)

I can't use ONE The Secret of Yavin 4's ability twice in a turn. That's pretty obvious.

But…

If I have two copies of The Secret of Yavin 4, I can use the interrupt ability of each once per turn.

Similar situation with Repair Droid:

Action: Remove 1 damage from a target Vehicle unit. (Limit once per turn.)

If I have two Repair Droids in play, I could use the action on each of them once per turn.

Note that restricted effects that are not persistent, like event cards, say "limit 1 per turn" as opposed to "limit once per turn" as persistent cards are labeled; a subtle but significant difference.