Objective Cards With Focus Tokens

By dj9091, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I do apologize if this is answered on the board already. When an objective or other resource providing card has been focused for resources, can the text continue to be used when appropriate? I'm more interested in the objective cards. For instance, on the Jedi objective "In You Must Go", the text is "Reduce the cost of the first enhancement you play each turn by 1" This was specifc to "each". When this objective is focused to provide resources (in this case it's one, but if it were two, only one focus token would be removed in the refresh phase) and the card is exhausted, is the text also exhausted until all focus tokens are remioved?

Thanks!!

Don

From pg 27:

"Exhausted
A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects, cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources. However, other card abilities of an exhausted card may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any) are still active, as long as such abilities do not require the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise prohibited by the card text."

Awesome! Thanks for pointing out the rule book quote as well. Makes it more clear (even thought I must have read that about 5 times!!).

Thanks!

No problem. I always like answering questions with direct rule quotes when possible (because it may answer additional questions and shows that I'm not making things up). Enjoy the game!

Just to be clear, the text on that objective card is a constant effect, meaning that it still applies even if it is focused. This is actually a rule that OCTGN ignores. Last time I played a game on OCTGN it didn't take into account constant effects, and instead didn't apply my objective text when it was focused.

Let me add to this original question…suppose the objective card has a resource value of "1" AND has text that reads "Focus this objective to play a unit of "1" or "0" cost" (I can't remember which Dark Side objective this is and I don't have the cards to reference). My take is that the benefit of the card is for the player to have the flexibility to use the card at any time of the game, as opposed to waiting for their deployment phase to play a unit card, and as such, when focused for that purpose, the resource is lost until refresh. My normal opponent feels the resource is not lost as it wouldn't be on other objective cards, but I'm saying that since the text on THIS card says to "focus" the card, it exhausts it and nothing else can be done at that point.

Our compromise for now is that IF the card is played during the Dark Side players deployment phase, we honor the resource and text at the same time (i.e. exhausting the card gets a free unit of "1" or "0" as well as the resource toward another unit.

Anyone have any input on this?

Thanks!

Don

dj9091 said:

Let me add to this original question…suppose the objective card has a resource value of "1" AND has text that reads "Focus this objective to play a unit of "1" or "0" cost" (I can't remember which Dark Side objective this is and I don't have the cards to reference). My take is that the benefit of the card is for the player to have the flexibility to use the card at any time of the game, as opposed to waiting for their deployment phase to play a unit card, and as such, when focused for that purpose, the resource is lost until refresh. My normal opponent feels the resource is not lost as it wouldn't be on other objective cards, but I'm saying that since the text on THIS card says to "focus" the card, it exhausts it and nothing else can be done at that point.

Our compromise for now is that IF the card is played during the Dark Side players deployment phase, we honor the resource and text at the same time (i.e. exhausting the card gets a free unit of "1" or "0" as well as the resource toward another unit.

Anyone have any input on this?

Thanks!

Don