newbie question - preparation

By khaali, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hello,

I've just bought and read the basic box set. I have a question concerning actions that require preparation.

On page 60-61 of the rulebook, there is a combat exemple where a character use "accurate shot". It is said in the example that the charater must use a manoeuvre in order to prepare for this action.

My problem is that I don't see anything about preparation on the 'accurate shot' card. Can someone indicates me wich symbol or text on this card means that it requires preparation?

Thanks!

It basically means that you don't use your maneuver to move. YOu just aim. There's no specific rule.

Also, you should download the Pregenerated characters from Liber Fanatica 7 (Google search it). They help a LOT in determining how to generate a character :)

jh

I think, what khaali refers to is that there seems to be no reference on the AccurateShot-card to having to use the preparation-maneuver.

So, why did the example use it.

I can't cross-check either one at the moment…

You've got it right socratim.

From the Errata/FAQ

WFRP Rulebook, p. 60

The turn example indicates that Accurate Shot requires preparation. That is incorrect. Accurate Shot does not require preparation. However, assuming an additional manoeuvre were needed to perform the action, the rest of the example is accurate.

There is quite a lot of useful stuff in the FAQ, make sure to check it out.

Thank you very much. I didn't know there was an FAQ!

Glad I could be of help :)