striking in battle

By Rogue 3, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

OKAY this is probably in the rule book but ill ask it any way so others can see it as well.

I understand once in a battle you have to strike but if a character has blaster icons must he target another character or can he strike only the objective or even simply focus to strike with out targeting? can he target himself?

When a unit strikes, it must resolve all of its icons. In the case of unit damage, it has to be assigned to a single participating enemy unit (except when attacking with targeted strike).

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.

Toqtamish said:

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.

Though tactics can be put on someone not in the engagement. Unless there are no units out to be targeted is when tactics would not work. I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

Rogue 4 said:

Toqtamish said:

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.

Though tactics can be put on someone not in the engagement. Unless there are no units out to be targeted is when tactics would not work. I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

That is exactly what I was talking about when I said if nothing eligible. No opposing units means no eligible targets for tactics icons.

Rogue 4 said:

Toqtamish said:

I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort.

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc

Rogue 3 said:

Rogue 4 said:

I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort.

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc

Tactics doesn't kill anything.

Toqtamish said:

Rogue 3 said:

Rogue 4 said:

I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort.

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc

Tactics doesn't kill anything.

agg my mistake for some reason thought he was talking about unit damage

A follow-up that has probably been covered but would love to make sure I'm doing this right:

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike.

LS has no units at the current battle so he passes.

I play Talon Roll to remove the focus token from my TIE.

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike again in the same battle.

Is this all legal?

Darik said:

A follow-up that has probably been covered but would love to make sure I'm doing this right:

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike.

LS has no units at the current battle so he passes.

I play Talon Roll to remove the focus token from my TIE.

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike again in the same battle.

Is this all legal?

Yes. That's pretty much the purpose of Tallon Roll. And as there's an action window after each unit strikes, you'd be able to play it during that engagement. And since the engagement would still be ongoing, the TIE would have to strike again.

Of course, you could wait until that engagement ends, then use the Tallon Roll so the TIE could engage a second objective.