It seems to be legal in the rules, but seems a bit odd thematically.
Situation:
Horton in Y-Wing with Ion Cannon vs Turr Phenirr
Horton uses his Ion cannon on Turr Phenirr. Turr Phenirr then attacks, which allows him to make a free boost action. Still, though, he is under the influence of the ION cannon.
As I said, technically the ION cannon only restricts the next chosen maneuver in the next maneuver phase. However, it just seems like the Ion effect really should also restrict other 'action' maneuvers while it is in effect.