Kordos said:
I try not to nit pick the rules to hard - I all to often find that rules don't have 'easter-eggs'
Though it can still be important for consistency of play and intentionally rules book phrasing
Kordos said:
I try not to nit pick the rules to hard - I all to often find that rules don't have 'easter-eggs'
Though it can still be important for consistency of play and intentionally rules book phrasing
Yes but these are some pretty solid rules and 99% it is simply rulesas written and I can see some easter egg hunts occuring on these forums
There are imo only a few things that truely need to be addressed (Trench Run for example) the rest will simply be clarrifications of RaW or if the devs realised they intended something else
Not sure if this has been brought up but in Game of Thrones if the card is canceled it is not considered played. I am unsure baout the other FFG games but in that one successfully played is when it resolves completely. I would think FFG's own game would be better to compare from than a WotC game. Also Game of Thrones was designed by the same person as Star Wars.
It is considered played in agot…..thats why you can't play another limited response event even when canceled or 2 narrow escapes if the first is canceled (limit 1 per phase)
Francisco G. said:
It is considered played in agot…..thats why you can't play another limited response event even when canceled or 2 narrow escapes if the first is canceled (limit 1 per phase)
But all things triggered from playing an event cannot be triggered unless it was successfully played. That is my point.
Venryk1 said:
Francisco G. said:
It is considered played in agot…..thats why you can't play another limited response event even when canceled or 2 narrow escapes if the first is canceled (limit 1 per phase)
But all things triggered from playing an event cannot be triggered unless it was successfully played. That is my point.
Yes, but this is where people are getting hung up. Vader's response specifically states that its trigger is after you "play" a [sith] event, not after you have "succesfully played" an event, and, as pointed out, if it leaves your hand and is payed for, cancelled or not, it is considered played.
Page 27 of rulebook: "
Example: The DS player plays an event
card with a resource cost of 2. The LS
player plays an interrupt that cancels
the effects of that event card. The DS
event is placed in the DS player’s
discard pile, and his two generated
resources are lost (they are not
refunded by the cancellation)."
Part of why I´m in the dark here is the phrasing "that cancels the effects of that event card". If that is a deliberate phrasing then it suggests, to me at least, that even though an event's effect is cancelled, the event card itself is still considered played
Nerdmeister said:
Page 27 of rulebook: " Example: The DS player plays an event card with a resource cost of 2. The LS player plays an interrupt that cancels the effects of that event card. The DS event is placed in the DS player’s discard pile, and his two generated resources are lost (they are not refunded by the cancellation)."
Part of why I´m in the dark here is the phrasing "that cancels the effects of that event card". If that is a deliberate phrasing then it suggests, to me at least, that even though an event's effect is cancelled, the event card itself is still considered played
Yes. And, as was stated in an earlier post, if they intend on using even a similar ruling as they do with AGoT (which is likely, considering the wording of most, if not all cancells), then the event is considered played, even if cancelled. Otherwise, you could play all of your Force Chokes in hand, as long as the LS player keeps cancelling them… seems kinda ridiculous, doesn't it?