The other night, in only our second game, we had a couple of issues come up that weren't clearly spelled out in the rulebook (at least I couldn't find an answer when leafing through it again):
1. the player controlling a Tie fighter had a critical hit card on him. On the critical card, it said that if his pilot collided with an object (presumably another fighter, asteroid, etc.), that he would receive another damage point.
During his move phase, before the Rebel player's fighter, he moved fine, not contacting any object.
However, when the Rebel player moved, there as an overlap created, so we moved the X-Wing back along the move template, until the two fighters were in contact with one another.
At this point, we weren't clear if the contact resulted in a "collision", and if the Tie fighter was then destroyed due to that. I am aware that neither fighter can fire on one another, because they are in contact, but was unclear of what to do, since the X-Wing pilot created the issue.
I do recall reading that the fighters are assumed to maneuver around one another in 3-D space, which can be represented by removing a peg section, if needed/desired.
Should the Tie fighter have been destroyed?
2. also, related to this, the X-Wing, which was performing an easy maneuver was unable to make his complete move, due to the overlap. Does he still get to count this as a full green maneuver, for stress token removal purposes?
We assumed so, since I didn't see anything in the rules that stated otherwise, but wasn't 100% sure.
The only clear issue in the rules for overlaps is that the 180 degree turn is negated, if that occurs during the move - had that happen during our first game, and was subsequently destroyed by a pursuing Rebel fighter.
Any clarifications will be greatly appreciated.