Turr Phennir & Expert Handling

By SleeplessKnight, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can Turr Phennir's free barrel roll ability stack with the Expert Handling upgrade to remove a target lock after performing a barrel roll?

I seem to be reading two ways to interpret these rules.

1. The Expert Handling upgrade makes it so that you remove target locks when you perform barrel roll actions. Turr Phennir's free barrel roll action is still a barrel roll, therefore you remove a target lock on Turr Phennir when he performs the free barrel roll

2. Expert Handling is a action in itself that happens to make your ship perform a maneuver that is the same as a barrel roll but wholey different from the regular barrel roll action. Turr Phennir's free barrel roll action is not the same as a Expert Handling action, therefore when Turr Phennir performs his free barrel roll action, he does not remove target lock because it is not an Expert Handling action.

Which of these is correct?

2 is correct. You need to actually use Expert Handling as an action to remove a target lock.

There's an Errata on Expert Handling which I think changes this. Here's the updated text for Expert Handling.

Action: Perform a free barrel roll action. If you do

not have the action icon, receive 1 stress token. You

may then remove 1 enemy target lock from your ship.”

I think that if you trigger Turr's ability after his attack and do a barrel roll, then you would remove a target lock. Some things to keep in mind with this, you can't perform the same action twice. So if you already did a barrel roll then you wouldn't be able to do this again.

2 is essentially correct. Expert Handling is an action in and of itself and is distinct from the Barrel Roll action (note however that it has been errataed so that part of its action is to perform a free barrel roll action, meaning that you cannot use it as your first action and then barrel roll with the later action).

mrfroggies said:

There's an Errata on Expert Handling which I think changes this. Here's the updated text for Expert Handling.

Action: Perform a free barrel roll action. If you do

not have the action icon, receive 1 stress token. You

may then remove 1 enemy target lock from your ship.”

I think that if you trigger Turr's ability after his attack and do a barrel roll, then you would remove a target lock. Some things to keep in mind with this, you can't perform the same action twice. So if you already did a barrel roll then you wouldn't be able to do this again.

Yeah, I agree that 2 is the correct interpretation due to Expert Handling being an action by itself.