Can Turr Phennir's free barrel roll ability stack with the Expert Handling upgrade to remove a target lock after performing a barrel roll?
I seem to be reading two ways to interpret these rules.
1. The Expert Handling upgrade makes it so that you remove target locks when you perform barrel roll actions. Turr Phennir's free barrel roll action is still a barrel roll, therefore you remove a target lock on Turr Phennir when he performs the free barrel roll
2. Expert Handling is a action in itself that happens to make your ship perform a maneuver that is the same as a barrel roll but wholey different from the regular barrel roll action. Turr Phennir's free barrel roll action is not the same as a Expert Handling action, therefore when Turr Phennir performs his free barrel roll action, he does not remove target lock because it is not an Expert Handling action.
Which of these is correct?