this may have been asked but…
edge battle starts.
cards are shown.
fate cards remove all defenders.
can defenders win edge battle?
this may have been asked but…
edge battle starts.
cards are shown.
fate cards remove all defenders.
can defenders win edge battle?
Rogue 3 said:
this may have been asked but…
edge battle starts.
cards are shown.
fate cards remove all defenders.
can defenders win edge battle?
There is no reason to conclude otherwise. The rules state you must have a unit involved to play cards to the edge stack, then mention nothing about needing a unit left to win the edge battle.
Well, since page 18 says "If the Defending player controls no defending units, the attacking player automatically wins the edge battle" I've been playing it as wiping out the defense before resolving the edge battle leads to the attacker winning despite the totals. That said, since this section is before the section "resolving the edge battle" I could easily see it going the other way. Hopefully the FAQ answers it conclusively (and soon).
For what it's worth, I agree fully with ScottieATF. The condition to which you're referring ("If the defending player controls no defending units, the attacking player automatically wins the edge battle") is clearly a condition checked prior to even placing edge cards in the edge battle. There is no need to recheck that condition after resolving fate cards; the rules simply don't say to do so. Therefore, if fate cards wipe out all defending units, the defending player may still win the edge battle.
Surge1000 said:
For what it's worth, I agree fully with ScottieATF. The condition to which you're referring ("If the defending player controls no defending units, the attacking player automatically wins the edge battle") is clearly a condition checked prior to even placing edge cards in the edge battle. There is no need to recheck that condition after resolving fate cards; the rules simply don't say to do so. Therefore, if fate cards wipe out all defending units, the defending player may still win the edge battle.
Which happened to me yesterday. Got hit with two Heat of Battles which killed both my defenders, but I stil won the edge battle. Which was key, since my opponent had comitted Devastator, so instead of doing 5 blast damage to the objective (2 standard + 2 edge + unopposed), it only did 3. Saved me for another turn.
DailyRich,
Was he using a card that gave him a bonus if you are unopposed? I am not seeing in the rules that you get extra damage if you are unopposed.
Henryhiggins said:
DailyRich,
Was he using a card that gave him a bonus if you are unopposed? I am not seeing in the rules that you get extra damage if you are unopposed.
From pg 23:
"6. Reward Unopposed
Any participating unit (attacking or defending) that has not been destroyed by the end of the resolve strikes step is considered to have survived the engagement. If at least one attacking unit has survived, and there are no surviving defenders, this is an unopposed engagement and the attacking player deals one bonus damage to the engaged objective card. This is known as an unopposed bonus. If the engaged objective was destroyed before the reward unopposed step, there is no unopposed bonus."
Thank you so much for the clarification.
Surge1000 said:
For what it's worth, I agree fully with ScottieATF. The condition to which you're referring ("If the defending player controls no defending units, the attacking player automatically wins the edge battle") is clearly a condition checked prior to even placing edge cards in the edge battle . There is no need to recheck that condition after resolving fate cards; the rules simply don't say to do so. Therefore, if fate cards wipe out all defending units, the defending player may still win the edge battle.
I agree. If you declare a defender or defenders, you have the option of winning the edge battle. If you declare no denfeder(s), the edge battle is considered automatically won by the attacker; but, the attacker reserves the right to play fate cards if he/she chooses. For instance, there would be no obvious need to play a Heat of Battle (unless for some reason you are trying to get rid of your hand), but an obvious reason to perhaps play Target of Opportunity. Indeed, sometimes it is necessary to defend, just for the sake of potentially denying your opponent their edge-enabled icons.
Guys .. I'm just wondering whether all cards on the table during an Edge Battle are considered "In Play" ?
So IF they were "In Play" can I have another Unique card on the table if the other one has been discarded? (i.e. if a Yoda card has been discarded and I have another Yoda in my hand then using it during the Edge Battle? )
Luminous Quasar said:
Guys .. I'm just wondering whether all cards on the table during an Edge Battle are considered "In Play" ?
So IF they were "In Play" can I have another Unique card on the table if the other one has been discarded? (i.e. if a Yoda card has been discarded and I have another Yoda in my hand then using it during the Edge Battle? )
When played to an Edge battle you only worry about the force icons on the card. Nothing else matters as in all other respects the cards are blank. Page 19 of the rules.
Luminous Quasar said:
Guys .. I'm just wondering whether all cards on the table during an Edge Battle are considered "In Play" ?
So IF they were "In Play" can I have another Unique card on the table if the other one has been discarded? (i.e. if a Yoda card has been discarded and I have another Yoda in my hand then using it during the Edge Battle? )
Cards used in an edge battle are not in play. So you could use Yoda in an edge battle while he was also on the table in play.
Cards in the discard are also not in play. Having a Yoda in the discard neither prevents you from playing another copy nor using him in an edge batte.
Rule book, pg 27:
"In play and out of play
A player’s unit cards, enhancement cards, and the current objective cards in his play area are considered “in play.” “Out of play” refers to the cards in a player’s hand, his facedown decks, his discard pile, his edge stack, his victory pile, and any cards that are captured. Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically refers to an out-of-play card or area. A player’s affiliation card is always considered in play, and cannot be removed from play by any card effect. A card “enters play” when it moves from its “out of play” origin to a player’s play area. For example, a card enters play when it is played from a player’s hand, put into play from his objective deck, or is placed in a player’s play area by some card effect. A card that “leaves play” moves from a player’s play area to the “out of play” destination indicated by card or rules text. “Remove” and “Discard” are common terms that indicate a card must leave play."
*edited to fix a grammar mistake
dbmeboy said:
Luminous Quasar said:
Guys .. I'm just wondering whether all cards on the table during an Edge Battle are considered "In Play" ?
So IF they were "In Play" can I have another Unique card on the table if the other one has been discarded? (i.e. if a Yoda card has been discarded and I have another Yoda in my hand then using it during the Edge Battle? )
Cards used in an edge battle are not in play. So you could use Yoda in an edge battle while he was also on the table in play.
Cards in the discard are also not in play. Having a Yoda in the discard neither prevents you from playing another copy or using him in an edge batte.
Rule book, pg 27:
"In play and out of play
A player’s unit cards, enhancement cards, and the current objective cards in his play area are considered “in play.” “Out of play” refers to the cards in a player’s hand, his facedown decks, his discard pile, his edge stack, his victory pile, and any cards that are captured. Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically refers to an out-of-play card or area. A player’s affiliation card is always considered in play, and cannot be removed from play by any card effect. A card “enters play” when it moves from its “out of play” origin to a player’s play area. For example, a card enters play when it is played from a player’s hand, put into play from his objective deck, or is placed in a player’s play area by some card effect. A card that “leaves play” moves from a player’s play area to the “out of play” destination indicated by card or rules text. “Remove” and “Discard” are common terms that indicate a card must leave play."
Thanks dbmeboy and Toqtamis.
The thing I got confused because the Unique card during the Edge Battle and In Play. Now I know for sure that I can have particular multiple Unique cards as long as not 2 of them In Play ..
Sorry for bumping this… but the "new" post tag is stuck on for me. It appears that editing posts sometimes has this unfortunate consequence. Maybe someday FFG will fix the forum software…
dbmeboy said:
Sorry for bumping this… but the "new" post tag is stuck on for me. It appears that editing posts sometimes has this unfortunate consequence. Maybe someday FFG will fix the forum software…
That happens if a post is edited after someone has replied to the thread. So when you edited your grammar mistake in your earlier post it did that. Goes away as soon as a new post is made.
Toqtamish said:
dbmeboy said:
Sorry for bumping this… but the "new" post tag is stuck on for me. It appears that editing posts sometimes has this unfortunate consequence. Maybe someday FFG will fix the forum software…
That happens if a post is edited after someone has replied to the thread. So when you edited your grammar mistake in your earlier post it did that. Goes away as soon as a new post is made.
Makes sense. Well, not really, but at least it's consistent. Thanks.