Troll Purse and Troll Key

By Migwald, in Rules questions & answers

Got the 1st Hobbit saga for Christmas and been struggling with the first quest (We Must Away Ere Break of Day). Managed to win with 2 and 3 players but yet to win solo.

I've been attaching Troll Key and Troll Purse to Trolls if they are in play when the objectives appear (sometimes both to the same Troll), even though Bert the Troll has the text 'Players cannot play attachments on Troll enemies' , based on the cards being 'Objectives' and not 'Attachments'. However, the FAQ states 1.23 Attachments 'Any card that attaches to another card is treated as an Attachment in addition to its other card types' .

Does this mean Bert has to be removed from play before the other two Trolls are able to have the key or purse attached? It would appear so, based on the FAQ but doesn't seem logical to me. How do other players play this quest?

Seems to make the chances of getting the treasure even slimmer :(

you just can't play your attachment cards on the trolls, the objectives revealed from the encounter deck are not played by you

Yeah, the key word is "play." Most of the time that means paying for a card that is in your hand (although there are notable exceptions, such as Vilya, which allow you to "play" a card from your deck).

Thank you folks, still getting used to some of the subtleties of the game. But love it reir