Deadeye v. Dark Curse

By Zoso, in X-Wing Rules Questions

After reading both cards, I assume Dark Curse would in effect cancel the ability of Deadeye when attacking him. Spending a focus to re-roll or spending it in place of a target lock is still spending it, which DC specifically forbids. Is my reasoning correct on this?

I meant to say spending a focus to change eye results, not re-roll. But the question is still the same.

I think you are correct. So you can't torpedo/missile Dark Curse with deadeye using a focus token.

I hate that Dark Curse! Unless I'm using him of course. :)

You can use Deadeye if you are using Homing Missiles, because you don't spend the focus.

Good point, Froggies.

interesting. so that makes homing missles really nice then.

against regular targets not only do they not get to evade but you get to re-roll misses because the card does not require you to spend the target lock.

i wonder if this is how the card is suppose to work or if that was some kind of print error.

ReaverRandall said:

interesting. so that makes homing missles really nice then.

against regular targets not only do they not get to evade but you get to re-roll misses because the card does not require you to spend the target lock.

i wonder if this is how the card is suppose to work or if that was some kind of print error.

This doesn't look like an error, the wording is very different from the other Missiles, and this makes them far more accurate like Homing Missiles should be.