Cluster Missiles and Luke/Gunner

By magadizer, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Scenario: You are running the Falcon with Cluster Missiles and Luke or the Gunner as crew member, and you fire your cluster missiles. Some possible outcomes follow:

1. The first missile attack does not hit.

Option 1A.You use Luke/Gunner to roll a primary weapon attack. You do not get to then roll the second missile attack.

Option 1B. You roll the second missile attack and ignore the Luke/Gunner ability.

2. The second missile attack does not hit, but the first one did.

Option 2A. You use the Luke/Gunner ability because you just performed an attack that did not hit.

Option 2B. You cannot use Luke/Gunner because the first missile attack did hit.

Obviously there are two questions involved here:

1. Do the two cluster missiles count as two separate attacks for the purposes of this scenario? (I would say yes based on the wording of the card)

2. Does taking the Luke or Gunner card REQUIRE you to use it when you don't want to. The wording on the card says, "Immediately perform a primary weapon attack…"

magadizer said:

perform anScenario: You are running the Falcon with Cluster Missiles and Luke or the Gunner as crew member, and you fire your cluster missiles. Some possible outcomes follow:

1. The first missile attack does not hit.

Option 1A.You use Luke/Gunner to roll a primary weapon attack. You do not get to then roll the second missile attack.

Option 1B. You roll the second missile attack and ignore the Luke/Gunner ability.

2. The second missile attack does not hit, but the first one did.

Option 2A. You use the Luke/Gunner ability because you just performed an attack that did not hit.

Option 2B. You cannot use Luke/Gunner because the first missile attack did hit.

Obviously there are two questions involved here:

1. Do the two cluster missiles count as two separate attacks for the purposes of this scenario? (I would say yes based on the wording of the card)

2. Does taking the Luke or Gunner card REQUIRE you to use it when you don't want to. The wording on the card says, "Immediately perform a primary weapon attack…"

I would say 1A and 2A are right. Cluster missles would count as two seperate attacks and without "you may" in the gunner's text, it should be mandatory.

I think I agree with you strictly from a card reading interpretation, but I doubt that is the intent of the game. I will maybe forward this to the rules questions and then see if i get a response this year. :)

Yeah, it does seem like an oversight. Until then, keep your Cluster Missles away from your overzealous gunner.

Don't get cocky, kid!