Blinded Pilot and Turr

By hothie, in X-Wing Rules Questions

"Blinded Pilot"-The next time you attack, do not roll any dice. Then flip this card face down.

Turr Phennir-After you perform an attack, you may perform a free boost or barrel roll action.

This came up in today's game. The question is, does Blinded Pilot count as "performing an attack" for the purposes of Turr Phennir's ability? We looked through the rulebook, and now that I'm home, i did so again, but couldn't find anything that defines "performing an attack." We ruled that Turr is allowed to use his ability, but i could see this either way. Thoughts? Discussion? I wanted to get a community answer before i send this one into FFG.

I think it was played right. The part we did not really "officially" do was to declare who Turr was attacking. Once that's done, you roll no dice, and flip the card over. But at that point it definitely (in my book) counts as an attack and Turr's ability kicks in.

When this came up Turr had plenty of targets and was able to "attack" and flip the card immediately. Consider that, if there were no eligible targets, Turr could not declare an attack, and would have to wait until a subsequent round (when there was a legal target) before his zero-dice attack could be made, and the card flipped over. It's basically a "lose your next attack" card, but with the twist that it actually counts as an attack, so abilities that trigger on making an attack (such as Turr's) will actually take place.

At least that's my take on it.

Its also worth noting and adding that the same can be done with Garven, You can spend your focus token, even though you dont have any dice that are eligiable to be focused

At first my thoughts were that it didn't count as an attack, but in order to flip the "Pilot Blinded" card, you need to make an attack. And it even states on the card: " Next time you attack , do not roll any dice, then flip this card face down."

So I'd definely say yes, this is a legit move.
Turr get's blinded, makes an attack on a target that he can shoot at, but he doesn't roll any dice (due to the "Pilot Blinded" critical hit) and then he can make his free boost or barrel roll action.

I agree with Ice. By the reading of the card the pilot *is* performing an attack, they just roll no dice (i.e. auto-miss). As such, the pilot's ability could be used.