Barrel Roll

By Rowdy, in X-Wing Rules Questions

OK straight up, I'm new to the game. I have read the rule book a few times still a shade of grey lingers.

I read a few threads on barrel roll which only seemed to cloud the issue with comments like "its really simple when you get used to it" instead of explaining it with an example. Then I'm sure it will be simple.

So here is my example please feel free to correct it if need be.

As I read it; I move a ship in the Activation Phase, while everyone else is applying target locks, evades, focus etc I conduct a barrel roll, apply no action as the roll is my action (Unless it's Vader). Receive no stress token and I'm good for the Combat Phase.

Had a few people give me their own interpretations and guess what? many were different. Just want to make this solid.

Cheers

That is correct, Barrel Roll is the action. It does not have a token since you physically move the ship. It also does not confer a stress token. I think where some people are getting confused is because of the Expert Handling card. If you take that card it allows a barrel roll even if you cannot normally do one. If that is the case then you do recieve stress per the card

Rowdy said:

OK straight up, I'm new to the game. I have read the rule book a few times still a shade of grey lingers.

I read a few threads on barrel roll which only seemed to cloud the issue with comments like "its really simple when you get used to it" instead of explaining it with an example. Then I'm sure it will be simple.

So here is my example please feel free to correct it if need be.

As I read it; I move a ship in the Activation Phase, while everyone else is applying target locks, evades, focus etc I conduct a barrel roll, apply no action as the roll is my action (Unless it's Vader). Receive no stress token and I'm good for the Combat Phase.

Had a few people give me their own interpretations and guess what? many were different. Just want to make this solid.

Cheers

Rowdy said:

OK straight up, I'm new to the game. I have read the rule book a few times still a shade of grey lingers.

I read a few threads on barrel roll which only seemed to cloud the issue with comments like "its really simple when you get used to it" instead of explaining it with an example. Then I'm sure it will be simple.

So here is my example please feel free to correct it if need be.

As I read it; I move a ship in the Activation Phase, while everyone else is applying target locks, evades, focus etc I conduct a barrel roll, apply no action as the roll is my action. Receive no stress token and I'm good for the Combat Phase.

Had a few people give me their own interpretations and guess what? many were different. Just want to make this solid.

Cheers

Each ship activates completely before moving on to the next ship.

Step 1 - Reveal the dial

Step 2 - use the correct movement template and direction to move the ship.

Step 3 - select an action if you wish (and are allowed)

Step 4 - Complete that action completely (stealth, focus and target lock actions all give you tokens)

Step 5 - work out which ship needs to move next

It is in step 4 that you do the barrel roll action. You place the 1 straight template on the side of the ship so that it is not overlapping the edge (it can be anywhere along the side). Move the ship so that the other side of the ship is touching the opposite side of the template.

In each case, the only criteria for where the template needs to be is on the side and not overlapping. So this means that you can "fudge" your ship backwards or forwards slightly as well

godofcheese said:

Each ship activates completely before moving on to the next ship.

Step 1 - Reveal the dial

Step 2 - use the correct movement template and direction to move the ship.

Step 3 - select an action if you wish (and are allowed)

Step 4 - Complete that action completely (stealth , focus and target lock actions all give you tokens)

Step 5 - work out which ship needs to move next

It is in step 4 that you do the barrel roll action. You place the 1 straight template on the side of the ship so that it is not overlapping the edge (it can be anywhere along the side). Move the ship so that the other side of the ship is touching the opposite side of the template.

In each case, the only criteria for where the template needs to be is on the side and not overlapping. So this means that you can "fudge" your ship backwards or forwards slightly as well

Quick correction to avoid confusion: Stealth is not an action. It is an upcoming upgrade card in Wave 2 that also does not provide an action. I believe you are refering to the Evade action there, which does provide a token.

One addition, as it is a common point of confusion with actions and tokens: the entire effect of the focus, evade, and target lock actions is to give you a token. Spending a token is never an action and so if a ship can manage to gather multiple tokens during a round it can spend as many of them as you would like.

dbmeboy said:

godofcheese said:

Each ship activates completely before moving on to the next ship.

Step 1 - Reveal the dial

Step 2 - use the correct movement template and direction to move the ship.

Step 3 - select an action if you wish (and are allowed)

Step 4 - Complete that action completely (stealth , focus and target lock actions all give you tokens)

Step 5 - work out which ship needs to move next

It is in step 4 that you do the barrel roll action. You place the 1 straight template on the side of the ship so that it is not overlapping the edge (it can be anywhere along the side). Move the ship so that the other side of the ship is touching the opposite side of the template.

In each case, the only criteria for where the template needs to be is on the side and not overlapping. So this means that you can "fudge" your ship backwards or forwards slightly as well

Quick correction to avoid confusion: Stealth is not an action. It is an upcoming upgrade card in Wave 2 that also does not provide an action. I believe you are refering to the Evade action there, which does provide a token.

One addition, as it is a common point of confusion with actions and tokens: the entire effect of the focus, evade, and target lock actions is to give you a token. Spending a token is never an action and so if a ship can manage to gather multiple tokens during a round it can spend as many of them as you would like.

Your're right. Sorrry I meant to say evade.

It's also exactly what I have said in other threads. The focus action gives you a focus token. That's it. End of action.

Spending the focus token is not an action.

Thanks for the confirmation guys, I'm happy I'm on track with this now

and.. Vader.. has an unused target lock, next activation phase he can have two tokens (focus/evade) and still maintain his TL?

Thanks

Rowdy said:

Thanks for the confirmation guys, I'm happy I'm on track with this now

and.. Vader.. has an unused target lock, next activation phase he can have two tokens (focus/evade) and still maintain his TL?

Thanks

That is correct. Target Lock is the most common way to end up with two different tokens (Vader being able to evade and focus is probably the 2nd most common way to end up with 2 tokens, and the combo you posted is certainly the easiest way to end up with 3).

@godofcheese - I didn't mean to imply my addition was disagreeing with you in any way, I've just seen it come up often enough that I start throwing it in as an addition to any question vaguely along the lines of action economy since it is a common misconception.

dbmeboy said:

Rowdy said:

Thanks for the confirmation guys, I'm happy I'm on track with this now

and.. Vader.. has an unused target lock, next activation phase he can have two tokens (focus/evade) and still maintain his TL?

Thanks

That is correct. Target Lock is the most common way to end up with two different tokens (Vader being able to evade and focus is probably the 2nd most common way to end up with 2 tokens, and the combo you posted is certainly the easiest way to end up with 3).

@godofcheese - I didn't mean to imply my addition was disagreeing with you in any way, I've just seen it come up often enough that I start throwing it in as an addition to any question vaguely along the lines of action economy since it is a common misconception.

Don't worry about it. It was just a brain fart on my part as usually I'm in the same boat as you, and as I'm trying to introduce newbies to the game, I make sure they learn that early.

It may help some people to think of the Barrell Roll as if it gives the performing ship a token, just like most other actions.

The Token is the 1 movement template, and it is spent immediately, to perform the manuever.

That's sort of how I look at it.

jimtullis said:

It may help some people to think of the Barrell Roll as if it gives the performing ship a token, just like most other actions.

The Token is the 1 movement template, and it is spent immediately, to perform the manuever.

That's sort of how I look at it.

There are actually plenty of actions that don't give a token (even excepting the wave 2 stuff): R2-F2, several of the critical damage cards, and Marksmanship to name a few.