Maarek Stele

By Mongomil, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Just started playing. A friend used Maarek Stele and his text reads "When your attack deals a faceup Damage card to the defender, instead draw 3 Damage cards, chose 1 to deal, and discard the others."

So does the attacker pick the card or the defender? I thought defender he though attacker so now I am wondering.

Attacker. This would be a terrible ability instead of a mediocre one otherwise.

Yes, attacker picks the damage card. Othervise the defender would gain the benefit of picking the critical with the least damaging effect.

Given that the ability is triggered in the owning player's context (e.g. when making an attack with Steele), I agree with radiskull and Iceplague - the attacker selects the cards.

And this ability apply to all ships in your team???, because the word you do not appear in the ability, greettings.

Kaxel Vofer said:

And this ability apply to all ships in your team???, because the word you do not appear in the ability, greettings.

But the word "your" does. It applies only to Maarek Steele's attacks.

radiskull said:

Kaxel Vofer said:

And this ability apply to all ships in your team???, because the word you do not appear in the ability, greettings.

But the word "your" does. It applies only to Maarek Steele's attacks.

The rule said that only if the word "You", not "Yours", by grammar you are correct, but by others expiriences not always the most logical answer is right, grettings.

Kaxel Vofer said:

radiskull said:

Kaxel Vofer said:

And this ability apply to all ships in your team???, because the word you do not appear in the ability, greettings.

But the word "your" does. It applies only to Maarek Steele's attacks.

The rule said that only if the word "You", not "Yours", by grammar you are correct, but by others expiriences not always the most logical answer is right, grettings.

Yeah well regardless of "you" or "your" right below that part in the core book it says "Abilities on Ship cards cannot affect other ships unless explicitly specified by the ability." so, no, Maarek's ability only applies to himself

If it could be applied to all your ships it could be excessive I think.

lopezcaos said:

If it could be applied to all your ships it could be excessive I think.

Yes I think that too, that's for I asked, greettings.

Acebaur said:

Kaxel Vofer said:

radiskull said:

Kaxel Vofer said:

And this ability apply to all ships in your team???, because the word you do not appear in the ability, greettings.

But the word "your" does. It applies only to Maarek Steele's attacks.

The rule said that only if the word "You", not "Yours", by grammar you are correct, but by others expiriences not always the most logical answer is right, grettings.

Yeah well regardless of "you" or "your" right below that part in the core book it says "Abilities on Ship cards cannot affect other ships unless explicitly specified by the ability." so, no, Maarek's ability only applies to himself

I'm no grammar expert nut in this case "your" refers to "attack" (singular), since the sentence "When you attack deals a face up…." doesn't make any sense at all

so it is "your attack" that deals the damage (like in the sentence "When your dog s***s on the pavement" compared to "when you dog s*** on the pavement"