co-op play - first time, a few questions

By hendersondayton, in Rules questions & answers

I have played a lot of solo games…i had my first co-op experience last night and had a question:

unless expressed on the card, are all hero or character actions only useful to the player who owns them?

For example, Eleanor can cancel a "When Revealed" but can that "When Revealed still be cancelled if it would effect another player?

In this case, there was a Treachery card revealed in the quest phase that would force the player with the highest threat to discard an attachment they control. Player 1 had Eleanor, Player 2 had the higher threat.

Would Eleanor's ability only apply to "When Revelead" cards that would affect her player?

I ran into a few other instances like this and since this is my first game not solo, I needed to ask.

Thanks!

Yes. The effect on Eleanor can target Encounter cards that are going to affect other players than the owner of Eleanor.

Same as Will fo the West, Beravor, Erebor Hammersmith, etc

although I am grateful for your answer my question was really more general….can all actions, responses, etc…help both players unless the card specifies one player or the other?

hendersondayton said:

although I am grateful for your answer my question was really more general….can all actions, responses, etc…help both players unless the card specifies one player or the other?

in general that is correct

rich

so as long as the card itself does not specify which player, I can play any of my cards, in any of the phases or times that i can play cards (events, actions, etc.) to the benefit of the other player?

yes you can. though i really think that each card explains itself…for instance they will say 'choose a player/location/enemy/ally'

unless a card says otherwise, and you are staying to the usual rules, they can work for all players

rich

Another question - Can Attachments be played on any players heros or just the controller?

Can Player A play Attachments on characters In Play for Player B?

Yeah, you can play attachments on other characters' heroes so long as you meet the play restrictions on the card (e.g., A Burning Brand has to go on a hero with a Lore resource icon, Dwarrowdelf Axe has to go on a Dwarf hero, etc).

I'm just starting to play that awesome game (with my daughter ;-)), and have the same doubts. Thank you for clear answer!!!

Best regards,

Benu