A Very Good Tale in Dol Guldur

By cnquist, in Rules questions & answers

Does A Very Good Tale (OHaUH) work as normal in the first two quests of Escape from Dol Guldur or is it limited by the only one ally rule.

A Very Good Tale: Action: Exhaust 2 allies you control to shuffle your deck and discard the top 5 cards. Put up to 2 allies discarded by this effect into play under your control. The total cost of the allies put into play cannot exceed the total cost of the allies exhausted to pay for this effect.

Escape from Dol Guldur Quest 1B and 2B: The players, as a group, cannot play more then 1 ally card each round.

Basically the question is if "putting an ally into play" is the same as "playing an ally"? My gut says it is but not everyone trusts my gut.

Are there any cards in the current pool that get around the one ally per turn restriction?

You can use A Very Good Tale to put two allies into play in Dol Guldur. “Put into play” and “play” are different (hence the seemingly redundant wording on a card such as Vilya).

From the official FAQ:

(1.16) The phrase “put into play” If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means that the card enters play through a card effect instead of through the normal process of paying resources and playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects are not considered to be playing the card , and will not trigger any effects that refer to a card being played. “Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that occur when a card “enters play”.

Other cards that can be used to get around the 1-ally restriction in Dol Guldur:

Stand and Fight

Elrond + Vilya

Sneak Attack

Timely Aid

Bofur (during questing)

Fili/Kili

Awesome! Thanks, it was in the FAQ the whole time and I've read it twice too.

One other question: Nazgul of Dol Guldur - Forced: After a shadow effect dealt to Nazgul of Dol Guldur resolves , the engaged player must choose and discard 1 character he controls.

We interpretted that to mean only when 1. the shadow card has a shadow effect and 2.that effect is not blocked, would he eat one character. Is that correct?

cnquist said:

Awesome! Thanks, it was in the FAQ the whole time and I've read it twice too.

One other question: Nazgul of Dol Guldur - Forced: After a shadow effect dealt to Nazgul of Dol Guldur resolves , the engaged player must choose and discard 1 character he controls.

We interpretted that to mean only when 1. the shadow card has a shadow effect and 2.that effect is not blocked, would he eat one character. Is that correct?

Yes.

This means that the shadow card must have an shadow effect.

That effect resolves (If defending character has A burning Brand the efect doesnot resolve)