His Action says raise threat by 1 to ready Boromir. I came into an instance where I just had to kill a creature to win. Can i keep raising threat to ready and use him to attack or can i only do this once per turn.
Question about Boromir
You can use his ability more than once per turn.
However you cannot attack the same enemy engaged with you more than once per turn….
CJMatos said:
You can use his ability more than once per turn.
However you cannot attack the same enemy engaged with you more than once per turn….
Technically that is not entirely accurate. On p20 of the rulebook the part about attacking enemies during the combat phase:
"A player has the opportunity to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged"
However you can still use something like quick strike to attack an enemy either before or after (and in addition to) this step.
Quick strike, no, as you are required to declare the attack in order to deal damage. You can use it to attack out of phase, but not to attack the same enemy twice.
GrandSpleen said:
Quick strike, no, as you are required to declare the attack in order to deal damage. You can use it to attack out of phase, but not to attack the same enemy twice.
Is there a definate clarification on that? Because I don´t see that from the rules quote: " A player has the opportunity to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged " which is specifically stipulated under the "players attack enemies" part of the combat phase.
This rule I read as, you can declare 1 attack against each enemy engaged with you specifically during this phase of the game, where attacks are to normally take place. In no place do I see it stating that you can only attack each enemy once during the entire round.
If I´m wrong then please point to where my logic is faulty or an FAQ that states otherwise.
Nerdmeister said:
GrandSpleen said:
Quick strike, no, as you are required to declare the attack in order to deal damage. You can use it to attack out of phase, but not to attack the same enemy twice.
Is there a definate clarification on that? Because I don´t see that from the rules quote: " A player has the opportunity to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged " which is specifically stipulated under the "players attack enemies" part of the combat phase.
This rule I read as, you can declare 1 attack against each enemy engaged with you specifically during this phase of the game, where attacks are to normally take place. In no place do I see it stating that you can only attack each enemy once during the entire round.
If I´m wrong then please point to where my logic is faulty or an FAQ that states otherwise.
FAQ, point 1.11
"(1.11) Limitations on Attacks
Sorry CJMatos but I´m not fully understanding wether or not you are in agreement that quick strike (and hands upon the bow for that matter) can be used to attack an enemy in addition to the normally declared attack during a round of play.
In the passage that CJMatos cited, I think the text "through card effects" applies for Quick Strike, and suggests that Quick Strike does indeed take up your 1 attack on that enemy.
how about a ranged hero use quick strike to attack an enemy not engaged to him, then another hero controlled by another player using quick strike attack that enemy again?
another similar scenario: ranged hero use hands on the bow to attack an enemy in the staging area, then another player's ranged hero use hands on the bow to attack it again.
CJMatos said:
Nerdmeister said:
GrandSpleen said:
Quick strike, no, as you are required to declare the attack in order to deal damage. You can use it to attack out of phase, but not to attack the same enemy twice.
Is there a definate clarification on that? Because I don´t see that from the rules quote: " A player has the opportunity to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged " which is specifically stipulated under the "players attack enemies" part of the combat phase.
This rule I read as, you can declare 1 attack against each enemy engaged with you specifically during this phase of the game, where attacks are to normally take place. In no place do I see it stating that you can only attack each enemy once during the entire round.
If I´m wrong then please point to where my logic is faulty or an FAQ that states otherwise.
FAQ, point 1.11
"(1.11) Limitations on Attacks
I'm not sure if you're saying 'can' or 'cannot'
I think the first paragraph of 1.11 was just to clarify the keyword 'ranged' to avoid the misunderstanding that ranged allows you to declare attack the same enemy twice, and the Gold Rule always allows a card effect to ignore this.
However, this will come to the question: do Quick Strike generate another declare of attack on that enemy, or do it simply allows you to declare to attack earlier? Any clarification on this?
Nerdmeister said:
Sorry CJMatos but I´m not fully understanding wether or not you are in agreement that quick strike (and hands upon the bow for that matter) can be used to attack an enemy in addition to the normally declared attack during a round of play.
Sorry, been away….
My opinion is that Quick strike is limited to the one attack rule per enemy, that is how i've been playing.
But this is a matter that needs explanations form FFG.
revolution.hk said:
how about a ranged hero use quick strike to attack an enemy not engaged to him, then another hero controlled by another player using quick strike attack that enemy again?
another similar scenario: ranged hero use hands on the bow to attack an enemy in the staging area, then another player's ranged hero use hands on the bow to attack it again.
This scenario you mention does not have anything with the rule we are discussing.
What we are discussing is if the same player can attack one enemy twice in the same round. What you say is allowed by the rules as it is 2 different players attacking the same enemy.
And as i said earlier, joining an attack is not declaring it…