Just yesterday, a friend and I were playing and had a sharp -- though amicable -- divide on ranged attacks. We searched the rules and FAQs at the gaming table, and just now I searched the forum and didn't find this question explicitly addressed. My apologies if we missed it, though:
Player A is the first player. He has a ranged character and uses that ability to attack an enemy engaged to Player B. In such instance, can Player B "join into" the ranged attack? One of us said yea, the other said Player B couldn't join in because it was Player A's attacking step (although we agreed the two characters could unquestionably join in the attack, if Player A used the ranged ability to join into Player B's attack).
Thank you aforehand for your input! Incidentally, we couldn't convince one another at the time and simply opted for a less controversial strategy