Ion Cannon damage

By Nazull, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I was having a game the other day and my mate was saying the Ion cannon caused a Crit damage on me, But i thought the Ion Cannon can only cause normal damage.

So we need it confired if Ion Cannon dose just normal damage or crit damage.

if you roll 1 blank and 2 Crit damage do the Crit count as normal damage or crits or do u ignoe crit rolls ?

Ion Cannon's card says you "cancel all dice results", then do 1 damage.

What could this phrase mean, other than to ignore crits?

That is what i said, but he said a crit is a damage type.

What do u do if you only roll 2 Crits?

do you say that the ion cannon missed as it only rolled 2 crits and none of the standard damage icon ?

if you somhow rolled 16 crits it wouldn't matter. once you verify that you have hit it ship, all dice r cancelled and the ship takes 1 dmg. since they were all cancelled you dont have any crits. complice

thank you :)

Thats how i have been useing it but i needed to confirm it for a mate..

Thank you all

radiskull said:

Ion Cannon's card says you "cancel all dice results", then do 1 damage.

What could this phrase mean, other than to ignore crits?

I'm brand new at X-wing. (And I'm pretty stoked about it!!)… I just got it, so please, a little slack for the new guy…

I've also just gotten a Y-wing expansion… I'm pretty foggy on the meaning of this text.

Does "cancel all dice results" basically mean, that if the attacker rolled at least 1 damage, then no matter what the defender rolls, it is still one damage? Does it mean the defender shouldn't bother rolling dice?

Thanks in advance!

Defense dice rolls most definitely count!

Ion Cannon Turret card wording:

"If this attack hits the target ship, the ship suffers 1 damage and receives 1 ion token. Then cancel all dice results"

Keep in mind that attack dice results (and modifiers) do not "hit the target ship" if they are cancelled by defense dice results (and modifiers).

Page 10, step 6, Compare Results: Players compare the final attack and defense dice results to determine if the defender was hit and how much damage it suffers. (Emphasis is mine.)

So, in the case of the Ion Cannon, once it has been determined that the target ship was hit, the Ion Cannon card text takes over - the type of hit(s) used to make the determination is irrelevant. 1 damage is assigned, 1 Ion Token is assigned, and all other dice results are cancelled. The second part of step 6, how much damage it suffers, is never reached.

Note also that the 1 damage assigned can be absorbed by shields, if any exist on the target ship.

Hope this clears it up.

Kpuc said:

radiskull said:

Ion Cannon's card says you "cancel all dice results", then do 1 damage.

What could this phrase mean, other than to ignore crits?

I'm brand new at X-wing. (And I'm pretty stoked about it!!)… I just got it, so please, a little slack for the new guy…

I've also just gotten a Y-wing expansion… I'm pretty foggy on the meaning of this text.

Does "cancel all dice results" basically mean, that if the attacker rolled at least 1 damage, then no matter what the defender rolls, it is still one damage? Does it mean the defender shouldn't bother rolling dice?

Thanks in advance!

Kpuc said:

radiskull said:

Ion Cannon's card says you "cancel all dice results", then do 1 damage.

What could this phrase mean, other than to ignore crits?

I'm brand new at X-wing. (And I'm pretty stoked about it!!)… I just got it, so please, a little slack for the new guy…

I've also just gotten a Y-wing expansion… I'm pretty foggy on the meaning of this text.

Does "cancel all dice results" basically mean, that if the attacker rolled at least 1 damage, then no matter what the defender rolls, it is still one damage? Does it mean the defender shouldn't bother rolling dice?

Thanks in advance!

Not quite. The defender still gets to roll, as his rolls cancel hit rolls (the main rules state that this is how it happens). After the defender has rolled and cancelled any attack dice, if there is still 1 (or more) uncancelled hit (or critical) then all dice results are ignored and the defending ship takes 1 damage and gets an ion token.

ie - A Y-Wing rolls well and scores a crit and 2 hits on his 3 dice. The defender rolls poorly and gets Blank, Blank, Evade.

That means that the defender is hit by: hit and critical. You would cancel both and then pply 1 damage.

Thanks Efi… and GoC.

That's exatly the kind of answer I was looking for. It's kinda what I was thinking… but the reading of the card was throwing me off a bit.

Thanks for taking the time to make it clear.