Help please! Can a spell that says "cast at any time" be cast after a player has turned in her trophies and still be her turn if the other person has not started theirs?
Spells that can be "cast at any time"
the reason this became an issue is because the other player had a spell he could only play at the start of his turn to counter mine. Thanks!
Sorkax3 said:
the reason this became an issue is because the other player had a spell he could only play at the start of his turn to counter mine. Thanks!
No Spell can be used to counter another Spell, except Counterspell and Reflection, which can always be used in response to spellcasting.
The other player probably wanted to cast Destroy Magic or Magic Shell and the answer is NO, these Spells can never be used to interrupt a Spell that has already been cast.
In Talisman, Spells are always resolved one by one. You can't play a Spell to change the conditions that allowed the casting of another Spell, which has not yet been resolved.
Thanks for the clarification. I am still curious though if you can cast a spell that says that it can be cast at any time after you turn in your trophys and have it still be your turn. Or does the rule that states your turn ends after you turn in trophys trump the cast at any time spell?
Thanks!
Sorkax3 said:
Thanks for the clarification. I am still curious though if you can cast a spell that says that it can be cast at any time after you turn in your trophys and have it still be your turn. Or does the rule that states your turn ends after you turn in trophys trump the cast at any time spell?
There are some game actions that make your turn end, as detailed in the Talisman Encounter Sequence. However, the Rulebook doesn't state that the turn ends after you turn trophies in; it states "A character may exchange trophies at the end of his turn". Which might be the same, but I'm not sure.
There's no exact moment that defines when the turn normally ends. I think it's just commonsense here. I don't have such problems in my games, because the next player usually starts managing his turn while the current player is still turning in trophies, or hasn't moved the Reaper yet. If a player has an urge to cast a Spell before the end of his turn, he should not wait until the very last second. Otherwise, he can cast the Spell during the other player's turn, considering his limit of one single Spell in another character's turn.
What's the deal with casting spells after cashing in trophies? I mean, what spell are you casting that you'd only cast after cashing trophies when you could just as well cast it before cashing trophies (since it's cast at any time)?
Dam said:
What's the deal with casting spells after cashing in trophies? I mean, what spell are you casting that you'd only cast after cashing trophies when you could just as well cast it before cashing trophies (since it's cast at any time)?