focusing

By Doma0997, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Just a quick question that only relates to garven. Can you spend a focus token, even if it has no dice to change?

Sure, I don't see why not.

There was a big debate on this before the FAQ. Per the FAQ though, you can indeed spend a focus token when there are zero focus results in a dice roll to change. My reading of it is that you still have to have actually rolled some dice though, you can't just spend it any time.

Doh. I read the faq before i even played the game. I should have seen that. Thank you!

dbmeboy said:

There was a big debate on this before the FAQ. Per the FAQ though, you can indeed spend a focus token when there are zero focus results in a dice roll to change. My reading of it is that you still have to have actually rolled some dice though, you can't just spend it any time.

Correct, you cannot spend a target lock or focus to modify a dice roll unless dice have been rolled. However, there is no requirement for focus to have rolled any focus symbols to change, nor for a target lock to actually reroll any dice.