initiative question (biggs)

By Duraham, in X-Wing Rules Questions

suppose Winged Gundark + Night Beast vs Biggs

case1: imperials have initiative. Night Beast kills Biggs in his attack. Is Winged Gundark's attack affected by Bigg's ability, although Biggs died? (Biggs have yet to attack)

case 2: rebels have initiative. Night Beast kills Biggs. Is Winged Gundark's ability affected by Bigg's ability, although Biggs died?

Duraham said:

suppose Winged Gundark + Night Beast vs Biggs

case1: imperials have initiative. Night Beast kills Biggs in his attack. Is Winged Gundark's attack affected by Bigg's ability, although Biggs died? (Biggs have yet to attack)

case 2: rebels have initiative. Night Beast kills Biggs. Is Winged Gundark's ability affected by Bigg's ability, although Biggs died?

There is no mention in the rules of any abilities going away upon being "destroyed" or of that ship no longer being targetable by attacks.

The rules specifacally state that a ship with equal pilot skill has to go through thier attack step before being destroyed. So since Biggs is not destroyed until he attacks in example one he wpuld continue to eat attacks. In example two, having already attacked he'd be imeediately removed upon being destroyed.

1) Yes, until Biggs is removed from the table his ability is in effect, and all opposing ships shooting at the same initiative will still be forced to target Biggs if able.

2) No, because simultaneous only applies to ships who still have a pending shot/have not shot yet. Since Biggs has already fired, a hit that destroys him will immedliately remove him, and thus subsequent shooting ships will no longer be subject to his ability.

"Simultaneous Attack Rule
Although ships perform their attacks one at a time, ships with a pilot skill value equal to the active ship’s pilot skill value have the opportunity to attack before being destroyed.
If such a ship would be destroyed, it simply retains its Damage cards without being removed from the play area. It may perform an attack as normal during the Combat phase, although any faceup Damage cards just dealt to it may affect this attack.
After this ship has had its opportunity to attack this round, it is immediately destroyed and removed from the play area."