Can TMI be rezzed over and over?

By Damocles, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

In the new expansion "What Lies Ahead" is the NBN ICE "TMI"

When you rez TMI, trace-2. If unsuccessful, derez TMI.

The basic question here is this. Does this happen in step 2.3, or later (Most probably step 3) of the timing chart? If it does happen in 2.3, can the corp choose to rez it again after an unsuccessful trace?

You can only rez ice as the runer approaches it during step 2.3. You would not have a chance to rez it again after the unsuccessful trace until the ice was approached again by the runner on a subsequent run or the same run possibly with a card like Cell Portal forcing the run back to the start of the ice in the server.

What ends step 2.3? The text of the card: "When you rez…" makes it seem that 2.3 is the time in which this ability triggers, but 2.3 does not state that you can only rez one piece of ice, it says only approached ice. The ice is considered approached at step 2.0, so one way of looking at it could go like this.

2.0 Runner approaches ice. [For the rest of the step the ice is considered approached]

2.1 Stuff

2.2 Runner continues run.

2.3 Corp rezzes ice. Text triggers, trace fails, ice derezzes. Corp rezzes ice…ect

Step 2.3 (from the FAQ) says the Corp has the opportunity to rez any non-ice cards, use paid abilities and rez the ice being approached.

TMI says the trace happens when the card is rezzed so that's when you do it, not at a later step in the flowchart. Regardless of the outcome of the trace, you then return to the window of opportunity in Step 2.3 to rez cards and use paid abilities.

There's nothing in the flowchart or the rules to indicate you can't rez a card that's been derezzed.

Take for example this non-controversial sequence:

The Runner approaches the ice and play proceeds to step 2.3.

  • The Corp rezzes Akitaro Watanabe.
  • The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, Rototurrent.
  • The Corp rezzes Corporate Troubleshooter.
  • The Corp trashes Corporate Troubleshooter to activate its paid ability to boost the strength of the ice.

The Corp indicates they're done and play proceeds to Step 2.4 where it has players check to see if the ice is rezzed or not.

Then take this example sequence:

The Runner approaches the ice and play proceeds to step 2.3.

  • The Corp rezzes Akitaro Watanabe.
  • The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, TMI. This sets off a triggered ability on TMI causing a trace to be conducted. The trace is unsuccessful and TMI is derezzed as a result.
  • The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, TMI. This sets off a triggered ability on TMI causing a trace to be conducted. The trace is successful and nothing happens as a result.
  • The Corp rezzes Corporate Troubleshooter.
  • The Corp trashes Corporate Troubleshooter to activate its paid ability to boost the strength of the ice.

The Corp indicates they're done and play proceeds to Step 2.4 where it has players check to see if the ice is rezzed or not.

Why would the second sequence be invalid when the first is not?

That said, this is a question myself and others have submitted to FFG for a ruling because it can cause some interesting situations in the right circumstances. (Cost to rez TMI reduced to 0 and a Runner with a base link of 2.)

EDIT:

Now that I am not typing on my iPod while carrying a baby (it is amazing the skills you develop as a parent) I've had a chance to read over the FAQ timing chart and I am inclined to agree that it is possible to keep rezzing as long as you can afford it, only way to change that is if a step were added like a hypothetical 2.3.5.

I've emailed Lukas for clarification as well. We should know soon enough once one of us gets a reply from him.

Toqtamish said:

I've emailed Lukas for clarification as well. We should know soon enough once one of us gets a reply from him.

…or not.

I think it was Bgg where I read someone saying they got a response from Lukas that you can Rez TMI multiple times during the run.

Keggy said:

I think it was Bgg where I read someone saying they got a response from Lukas that you can Rez TMI multiple times during the run.

Indeed, that was me. According to Lukas, being able to rez an ice in step 2.3 is an action akin to the "normal" actions that you can take that step, so you are free to do it repeatedly.