Question about Luke Skywalker upgrade.

By El_Tonio, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Here is a screenshot of the card from afewmaneuvers.com:

15_Luke.png

Just want to cofirm that the "you" in this text refers to the MF (and not the player in general)? If so, this just means the MF can get a free/second primary attack if the first attack misses (and it doesn't matter if the first attack is with a primary or secondary weapon), correct?

The word "you" on upgrade cards always just refers to the ship the card is attached to. I'm pretty sure that last sentence is intended to prevent you from just attacking repeatedly until you get a hit.

Thanks, that makes sense regarding the second sentence, too.

The "you" wouldn't necessarily have to be the Falcon, though. It could be any ship that has the Pilot icon on it, to which you have Luke attached. And it does say "perform an attack that does not hit," which could qualify as either a primary or secondary attack.

hothie said:

The "you" wouldn't necessarily have to be the Falcon, though. It could be any ship that has the Pilot icon on it, to which you have Luke attached. And it does say "perform an attack that does not hit," which could qualify as either a primary or secondary attack.

Agreed on all points. It's true that the Falcon is so far the only ship that can take Luke, but there will almost certainly be others in the future.

The falcon came with luke and the slave 1 came with a co-pilot called gunner. luke is rebel only but gunner is not. if i understand the cards correctly luke and gunners cards prevent you from taking both and attempting to shoot 3 times.

gunslinger7827 said:

The falcon came with luke and the slave 1 came with a co-pilot called gunner. luke is rebel only but gunner is not. if i understand the cards correctly luke and gunners cards prevent you from taking both and attempting to shoot 3 times.

That is correct. The card text at the end tells you that you do not get another after that.

So here is a follow-up question.

If I have the Luke Skywalker Pilot card in play on an X-wing, can I use the Luke Skywalker co-pilot card on the Falcon? They both have a dot next to his name, however, they are seperate function cards. Maybe an oversight on the developers?

Thanks

the short answer is no

any name with a bullet in front of it can only be used once per team

Mavfire said:

So here is a follow-up question.

If I have the Luke Skywalker Pilot card in play on an X-wing, can I use the Luke Skywalker co-pilot card on the Falcon? They both have a dot next to his name, however, they are seperate function cards. Maybe an oversight on the developers?

Thanks

Millenium Falcon pack insert. Section; New Rules (pg 1)

Unique Names

The last sentence in this rule reads: "As with other cards that have unique names, a player cannot field two or more cards that share a unique name, even if they are different types of cards."

It also means that you can't have Chewbacca co-piloting a YT-1300 (piloted by Han for eg), and have the Chewbacca YT-1300 pilot.