when can you use the barrel roll action? can you use it during any time you could perform any other actions in example like target lock or focus?
barrel roll question
actions are performed at the end of the activation phase. So, to simpify, you barrel roll right after you move the ship.
The only exception to that simplification I can think of is if someone has Squad leader and gives you a free action. Then you would barrel roll after THEY move.
Thank you for clearing that up.
magadizer said:
actions are performed at the end of the activation phase. So, to simpify, you barrel roll right after you move the ship.
The only exception to that simplification I can think of is if someone has Squad leader and gives you a free action. Then you would barrel roll after THEY move.
Actions like FOCUS and TARGET LOCK are performed during COMBAT , so perhaps it's not untinkable that you should perform the BARREL ROLL just before shooting (to move in a better position or so??)
It is smart to make soms statement the rulebook
LudoBrabo said:
magadizer said:
actions are performed at the end of the activation phase. So, to simpify, you barrel roll right after you move the ship.
The only exception to that simplification I can think of is if someone has Squad leader and gives you a free action. Then you would barrel roll after THEY move.
Actions like FOCUS and TARGET LOCK are performed during COMBAT , so perhaps it's not untinkable that you should perform the BARREL ROLL just before shooting (to move in a better position or so??)
It is smart to make soms statement the rulebook
I think since there is no "Barrel roll" token, the Barrell roll should indeed be performed right after the movement of the ship.
LudoBrabo said:
magadizer said:
actions are performed at the end of the activation phase. So, to simpify, you barrel roll right after you move the ship.
The only exception to that simplification I can think of is if someone has Squad leader and gives you a free action. Then you would barrel roll after THEY move.
Actions like FOCUS and TARGET LOCK are performed during COMBAT , so perhaps it's not untinkable that you should perform the BARREL ROLL just before shooting (to move in a better position or so??)
It is smart to make soms statement the rulebook
Incorrect. Actions like Focus and Target lock, happen in the perform actions part of your movement. The result of this action is that you gain the appropriate tokens.
You may spend these tokens during the Combat phase, but spending them is not actually performing the action (getting the tokens is)
It can sound confusing to a new player, but is actually quite simple once you get used to it. I hope this clears things up.
I have my own barrel roll question so if no one minds I'll ask it here.
On page 8 of the rule book the barrel roll example shows the template lined up with the front of the tie fighters base at the start of the roll but at the end of the roll the rear of the base is lined up with the movemnt template. Is that how the roll is suposse to work or can I possition the rolling ship with either the front or the back of the base?
You may position the template anywhere along the side as long as the whole template does not go beyond the front or the back edge of the ship's base.
You may then position the ship anywhere on the other end of the template as long as the template does not go beyone the front or the back edge of the ship's base.
When you make a Barrel Roll action it is possible to go a little up in the front (or at the back), or is a complete and perfect side move ending in the exact same spot that you were just 1 distance away to the right or to the left?
Olethros said:
When you make a Barrel Roll action it is possible to go a little up in the front (or at the back), or is a complete and perfect side move ending in the exact same spot that you were just 1 distance away to the right or to the left?
It is possible, and perfectly legal, to move slightly forwards or backwards.
If you wanted to go slightly forwards, you would position the 1 template to the correct side, and as close to the front of the base as you could (so there is no overhang). When placing the TIE at the other side of the template place it so that the 1 template is as close to the back of the TIE as is legal. It ends up moving you half a base worth forward in addition to the sideways.