Taking the Familiar/Mercenary/Mendicant,etc followers via a special ability or spell, and related queries

By zealot12, in Talisman Rules Questions

1)If the Sorceress, for instance, encounters a character with the Familiar follower, must she pay his fee(losing one life) to have him join her? Or does she simply take the Familiar?

2)Another question: if a character with negative followers and items dies , must the character who encounters the space with his loot then take take the negative followers and objects? I'd say, yes. Since they're "must take" cards.

3)Is the Deathstalker follower discarded once a character is killed by him, or is it left on the space with the rest of the character's loot?

zealot12 said:

1)If the Sorceress, for instance, encounters a character with the Familiar follower, must she pay his fee(losing one life) to have him join her? Or does she simply take the Familiar?

Yes, Followers that require a payment in order to be taken, require the payment also if they're taken by a Spell or Special Ability.

zealot12 said:

2)Another question: if a character with negative followers and items dies , must the character who encounters the space with his loot then take take the negative followers and objects? I'd say, yes. Since they're "must take" cards.

You're right, they stay on the Space and must be encountered.

zealot12 said:

3)Is the Deathstalker follower discarded once a character is killed by him, or is it left on the space with the rest of the character's loot?

It is left on the space, as the Deathstalker may be discarded only if the owner wins a battle/psychic combat.