I checked the forums and I didn't see this question asked.
Do targeted ships get the plus one defense dice when they are targetted at range three by a secondary weapon?
I checked the rules and this is what they say:
Page 10 last sentence on the page " Ranged Combat bonuses only occur when a ship is attacking with its primary weapon"
Page 10 Range Combat bonuses are defined as "Depending on the range between the ships, the attacker or defender may roll additional dice during this attack (see “Roll Attack Dice” and “Roll Defense Dice”on pages 11–12). Defending dice are classified as a 'Ranged combat bonus'.
Page 12 "The defender resolves any card abilitiesthat allow him to roll additional (or fewer) dice. Also, if he is targeted at Range 3 by
the attacker’s primary weapon, he rolls 1 additional defense die." Again the rules only talk about Primary Weaons.
I did not see anything in the Secondary Weapons section that contradicts this.
Thematically I can see the additional defense dice, because the defender would have more time to react to the weapon.
I can also see how they would not get the extra dice, because the primary weapons are fixed weapons mounted on the ship itself and not as manueverable as a missle with a guidance system.
I would like to know the answer, because if you don't get the extra defence dice it makes proton torpedoes way more powerful than we have been playing, and thus much more worth taking.