New player with questions and would appreciate help

By Bulwyf, in Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game

Hello,

I am a long time tabletop player for WH and 40k and this is my first time playing any card game for the IP. My wife and I got the core set and the Ulthuan expansion and I have some questions that I hope you guys don't mind answering.

1. My wife and I used to play Magic in the mid to late 90's when you had all kinds of instants and interrupts to manage. Reading the rules for WHI I am baffled when it comes to resolving what action goes first. Here is an example of a game we are currently playing: I am playing Dwarfs versus her Chaos. I am attacking her battlefield which had no defenders and use a tactic card to give one of my attackers +2 power for a total of +4. She then uses a card that inflicts damage to a unit equal to its power and since the unit had 3 hit points this killed the unit.

Reading the rules there is a section about "last in, first out" that said all actions resolve. What does this mean? Should my guy have inflicted +4 damage to her battlefied before he died or did the card that kill him happen before that could have taken place?

2. Are there more races than the 6 that are playble? I know there are neutral factions but I'd like to collect a Vampire Count deck. Do they have their own racial capital placard and racial symbol or are they just neutral and you can't use them as a stand alone deck?

3. Can Order decks fight other Order decks and Destruction versus Destruction? I know some neutral cards are only for each faction but I couldn't see anything in the rules other than you can't combine Order and Destruction cards in a deck.

4. Any recommendations on what additional packs or expansions to get? I'd like to play a Vampire Count army. I'm assuming there are other races like Skaven, Ogre Kingdoms, Chaos Dwarfs, Brettonians, etc. that you can play as neutral?

Thanks for any help!

Bulwyf said:

Hello,

I am a long time tabletop player for WH and 40k and this is my first time playing any card game for the IP. My wife and I got the core set and the Ulthuan expansion and I have some questions that I hope you guys don't mind answering.

1. My wife and I used to play Magic in the mid to late 90's when you had all kinds of instants and interrupts to manage. Reading the rules for WHI I am baffled when it comes to resolving what action goes first. Here is an example of a game we are currently playing: I am playing Dwarfs versus her Chaos. I am attacking her battlefield which had no defenders and use a tactic card to give one of my attackers +2 power for a total of +4. She then uses a card that inflicts damage to a unit equal to its power and since the unit had 3 hit points this killed the unit.

Reading the rules there is a section about "last in, first out" that said all actions resolve. What does this mean? Should my guy have inflicted +4 damage to her battlefied before he died or did the card that kill him happen before that could have taken place?

2. Are there more races than the 6 that are playble? I know there are neutral factions but I'd like to collect a Vampire Count deck. Do they have their own racial capital placard and racial symbol or are they just neutral and you can't use them as a stand alone deck?

3. Can Order decks fight other Order decks and Destruction versus Destruction? I know some neutral cards are only for each faction but I couldn't see anything in the rules other than you can't combine Order and Destruction cards in a deck.

4. Any recommendations on what additional packs or expansions to get? I'd like to play a Vampire Count army. I'm assuming there are other races like Skaven, Ogre Kingdoms, Chaos Dwarfs, Brettonians, etc. that you can play as neutral?

Thanks for any help!

1) Last in first out means the last card played in response resolves first. So basically they resolve in opposite order of the way they were played. Most famous example of this is the MTG "stack".

2) 6 races have capital boards. Neutral races are played within one of those 6. Neutral races do not get their own capitals.

3) Yes everyone can fight everyone else

4) If you want Vampire Counts then you must get March of the Damned, it introduces the Vampire Counts and Lizardmen as neutral races for Destruction and Order. http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_npm_sec.asp?eidm=23&esem=1

Thank you for the quick response!

So using my example since I attacked with a unit and used a tactic card first and she then used a tactic card after I declared the attack and tactic card to kill the unit did the unit inflict damage *before* it died or was it killed *before* it could do damage?

Bulwyf said:

Thank you for the quick response!

So using my example since I attacked with a unit and used a tactic card first and she then used a tactic card after I declared the attack and tactic card to kill the unit did the unit inflict damage *before* it died or was it killed *before* it could do damage?

Since she played the tactic card and it killed your unit before it had a chance to do damage, damage was not done. It really depends on where in the steps you were doing this but I will assume you did it before assigning or applying damage. By the sounds of your example she did this after she had declared defenders (in this case 0) in which case damage was not assigned yet so your unit was dead before its damage would have been assigned and then applied. I'm assuming a lot here based on what I read in your initial post.

There is a timing structure in section 3 of the FAQ on page 9 that might help you out. http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=85&esem=4

Thanks for the response. I assumed it worked that way or else there's no point in using those kind of instant cards after someone declared an attack.

The timing on this question doesn't actually matter all that much. Whenever you see one of those action windows in the rulebook it means you can both take turns taking actions until you both pass, then play moves to the next phase. So in painful detail, you would have declared the zone, then you both would have passed, then you would have named attackers, you both pass, then she names defenders (none), and you take the action "Merciless Assault". She could either "play a card in response", starting a stack like in Magic, or she could just acknowledge that you did that and then take an action herself normally, not "in response", but after you took your action.

It sounds like if she had played it "in response" your unit would have lived (I don't have the exact wording here, keep in mind), because her card would resolve first, causing your unit to damage itself, then you pump it up to four power. The way you guys did it is the "right" way if she wants to kill your unit. It's difficult to understand at first, because "playing cards in response" in the English language sounds a lot like "playing a card after your opponent" even though they are different in terms of resolution.