This came up in a tourney this past weekend at my store. We're all fairly inexperienced with the game and weren't 100% sure what to do.
- X-Wing player's turn.
- X-Wing performs Focus action. X-Wing has pre-existing Target Lock on TIE Advanced from several turns ago.
- X-Wing shoots at (Target Locked) TIE Advanced at range 1 using primary weapon. Rolls badly with initial roll to hit; 3 misses and 1 hit (can't remember if the misses were blanks or eyeballs).
- Burns pre-existing Target Lock. Picks up all dice except the one showing a hit.
- Re-rolls the three misses.
- Still rolls badly, but now has a couple of eyeballs showing on these rolls.
Can he now choose to Focus and turn those eyeballs into hits on the re-rolled dice or should we have made note of his initial roll for Focus purposes or something? Seems legit from the way we read the rules, but seems almost too good to be true.
The guy using it didn't exploit; he was a brand-new first-timer. After the fact though, it definitely made me raise an eyebrow since Target Lock's verbiage reads that you can re-roll any attack dice you want (as opposed to MUST re-roll any misses), you could make your initial roll, keep hits, crits, and eyeballs, burn the Target Lock, hopefully get more hits, crits, and eyeballs, then burn your Focus token to turn any of those eyeballs into hits.
Seems like a pretty nasty tactic if it's legit!