A bit confused on 0 cost Steadfast cards...

By Kallisti, in CoC Rules Discussion

We're a bit confused on why some cards have steadfast costs if they are a 0 cost card.

For example, the Sword of Y'ha-tallo which costs 0, has two steadfast

Checking the rules, we have this in the Operations Phase: "Cards with a cost of zero do not require a domain to be drained in
order to pay their cost, nor do they require a resource match."

And we have this on the Steadfast rule: "When a player drains a domain in order to pay the resource cost of playing a Steadfast card, he must have at least that many resources on the total number of domains he controls (and make a resource match as normal)."

So since it is a zero cost card, and does not require a domain to be drained, does that mean the steadfast part is ignored since the player is never "draining a domain in order to pay the resource cost"?

We were thinking that maybe a 0 cost steadfast is there in case the cost to play cards ever goes up, then you need to match the steadfast as normal. Alternatively, it could just mean that it costs 0 to play the Sword of Y'ha-tallo, but you still need two total Cthulhu symbols on all your domains. This second interpretation seems to match the spirit of the rule, but does contradict the rules as written.

Thanks in advance,

KallistiBRC

Alternatively, it could just mean that it costs 0 to play the Sword of Y'ha-tallo, but you still need two total Cthulhu symbols on all your domains.

This.

It's right, you pay nothing but you must have at least 2 cthulhu's resources on the total of your domains.

Sorry - new player dumb question...

The last 2 posts seem to contradict one another, or I am reading one of them wrong. Steadfast - do you need to have the total symbols in the name (in this example, 2 Cthulhu symbols) in each of your three domains i.e. 6 total?

Small Geezer said:

Sorry - new player dumb question...

The last 2 posts seem to contradict one another, or I am reading one of them wrong. Steadfast - do you need to have the total symbols in the name (in this example, 2 Cthulhu symbols) in each of your three domains i.e. 6 total?

To clarify that answer, you simply need to have a total of 2 Cthulhu resources out of all the resources you have in all of your domains. For example, It could be one in the first domain, one in the second and none in the third (or fourth or whatever you managed to realize).