We're a bit confused on why some cards have steadfast costs if they are a 0 cost card.
For example, the Sword of Y'ha-tallo which costs 0, has two steadfast
Checking the rules, we have this in the Operations Phase: "Cards with a cost of zero do not require a domain to be drained in
order to pay their cost, nor do they require a resource match."
And we have this on the Steadfast rule: "When a player drains a domain in order to pay the resource cost of playing a Steadfast card, he must have at least that many resources on the total number of domains he controls (and make a resource match as normal)."
So since it is a zero cost card, and does not require a domain to be drained, does that mean the steadfast part is ignored since the player is never "draining a domain in order to pay the resource cost"?
We were thinking that maybe a 0 cost steadfast is there in case the cost to play cards ever goes up, then you need to match the steadfast as normal. Alternatively, it could just mean that it costs 0 to play the Sword of Y'ha-tallo, but you still need two total Cthulhu symbols on all your domains. This second interpretation seems to match the spirit of the rule, but does contradict the rules as written.
Thanks in advance,
KallistiBRC