"characters with ranged can attack or defend against"

By CJMatos, in Rules questions & answers

My question regards the fact that Ranged is a keyword designed for attack, as described by the core rules:

"A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players. A character can declare ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks that are declared by other players. In either case, the character must exhaust and meet any other requirements necessary to make the attack."

In case of Mirkwood Flock and Black Forest Bats:

1) if they are engaged with other player:

I cannot use a Sentinel character to defend it?

Or that character must have the ranged keyword also, either by print text (Haldir of Lorien or Dunedain Wanderer) or by an attachment (both Dunedain Signal and Cache; a ranged character with the response form Arwen; A Rivendell Bow or an Dunedain Cache on a sentinel character)?

2) if they are engaged with me

I must use a ranged character or an eagle to defend it?

Thanks for your replies

i think the character must either be an eagle or ranged to do either, whether that be through sentinel or directly engaged with you

so if you want to use sentinel then the sentinel character must also have ranged or be an eagle

if the engaged player want to defend then it must also have ranged or be an eagle

thats how i see it

rich

That is also what i thought, but wanted to ear the opinions of others.

That is a little crap… Exhaust a ranged character (which are mostly suited to attack, except perhaps Brand, Dunedain Wanderer and Haldir) to defend a 1/2 attack enemy…

I have a question related to this. The Moria bats in Foundations of Stone require that a character has the ranged keyword in order to attack or defend them. So if I don't have any characters with the ranged keyword, bows or anything that will give the ranged keyword does this mean that I have to take the damage undefended on a hero?

yes that is correct. they are very annoying enemies to have in play if you have no ranged characters

you cannot also attack them without ranged characters (again whether that is printed ranged or through an attatchment)

rich

Edited by richsabre

Ah thanks for the quick answer Rich. Yes very annoying indeed!!

you can use sentinel to block them BUT ONLY IF they also have ranged or are a eagle . Not sure what the confusion here is.. it says it right on the card.. you have to have be a eagle or have the ranged keyword to block or attack.

Remember that Wyland or w/e it is spelt is a eagle and can attack or block the bats as they have no defense.

Why does Black Forest Bats require a ranged character to act Sentinel? I can't find anything about it on the card.

Why does Black Forest Bats require a ranged character to act Sentinel? I can't find anything about it on the card.

are you talking about passage through mirkwood bats? if so there is another enemy with the same name in a later pack

rich

ffg_black-forest-bats-ajtr.jpg

ffg_black-forest-bats-core.jpg

Edited by richsabre