Darth Vader special rule question

By ThadiusCole, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I just finished playing a game using Darth Vader and was wondering if it is possible for him to take the Evade action twice as per his rule of taking 2 actions during that phase?

Just to be safe I had him take 2 different actions, but wanted to know if it was possble for Vader to use 2 focus or barrel rolls etc.

Nope, pilots may not take the same action twice in the same round, even if the action is a free action from another source. Note that Expert Handling has been errataed so that it provides a free barrel roll action, so that Vader also cannot use it and barrel roll in the same round.

Right thanks for that dbmeboy :) if there was a way to give rep on this forum I would.

No problem. Enjoy the game and feel free to ask questions. As someone new to FFG in general, this has been one of the friendliest/most polite forums I've been a part of.

dbmeboy said:

No problem. Enjoy the game and feel free to ask questions. As someone new to FFG in general, this has been one of the friendliest/most polite forums I've been a part of.

My experience at Worlds gives more credence to this statement as well. Everyone there seemed to have a good time, and were very friendly and open. It really made it a fun day.

What if I have a pilot who used his focus to defend against a attack but later in the attack phase is given another focus by Garvin Dreis can he use that to help him attack or defend again later in the attack phase! Otherwise what would be the point of Garvin as rebels can only perform one of two actions?!

thanks

Being given a focus token by Garven isn't the same thing as taking a focus action, so yes, a ship could have 2 focus tokens on them.

And using tokens is never an action (that seems to be a common misconception, so I throw that in just in case). Basically, the focus action is the main way to gain a focus token, but other ways can and do exist (ie Garvin). If Garvin was instead worded that he gave a free focus action to another ship, then it could not be used to gain a second focus token.