contact = overlapping?

By Duraham, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If you were to move your ship, such that at the end of it's movement, it doesn't overlap anything BUT it comes into contact with any other ship (ie. bases are touching), does that count as a overlap/collision? There's nothing blocking where the ship would end up, so the usual overlapping rule doesnt really apply

Per page 17, I would say no. However, If they end up touching, I would say they cannot target each other while touching, even it overlapping did not occur. At least that is how I read it.

Chairborne said:

Per page 17, I would say no. However, If they end up touching, I would say they cannot target each other while touching, even it overlapping did not occur. At least that is how I read it.

I concur with my esteemed colleague. It would be a nice place for the rules to specifically say that instead of leaving us to figure it out, but it sure seems like only actually overlapping triggers the rest of the overlap rules (loss of action phase) while touching in any way causes the inability to target.

Check out the FAQ, ships only count as touching if they overlapped.

I missed that. Thank you Major!

So that means, if my ship base lands on another ship base but overlapped doesn't occurred and both ship bases are touching, I can still perform action and attack the ship in front even the base are touching. Am I right?

I think this is correct, based on the FAQ. If ships are touching WITHOUT having applied the overlap rules, there are no constraints on actions or targeting for the attack phase. I think both players must agree upon whether overlap occurred, however.

I reserve the right to be mistaken.