Ion Cannon Firing Rules

By alanshotfirst, in X-Wing Rules Questions

On each combat turn for a Y-Wing, can you fire your primary weapon AND your Ion Cannon in the same turn? OR do you have to choose one or the other?

The red number in the upper right corner-ish of the card. Is this the number of dice you roll for that ability? Example: The Ion Cannon card has a red 3 there? Does that mean I roll 3 dice every time I fire my Ion cannon?

How does range effect the roll of the Ion Cannon, or the defense of the Ion Cannon?

If someone is in range one I am firing my Ion Cannon at them, do I roll and additional dice or is it just the number on the card?

Same question for defense…if someone is all the way across the board, do I assume they are in range 3 and they add an additional defense dice?

Lots of questions: Thanks for the forthcoming answers!

- Alan

alanshotfirst said:

On each combat turn for a Y-Wing, can you fire your primary weapon AND your Ion Cannon in the same turn? OR do you have to choose one or the other?

The red number in the upper right corner-ish of the card. Is this the number of dice you roll for that ability? Example: The Ion Cannon card has a red 3 there? Does that mean I roll 3 dice every time I fire my Ion cannon?

How does range effect the roll of the Ion Cannon, or the defense of the Ion Cannon?

If someone is in range one I am firing my Ion Cannon at them, do I roll and additional dice or is it just the number on the card?

Same question for defense…if someone is all the way across the board, do I assume they are in range 3 and they add an additional defense dice?

Lots of questions: Thanks for the forthcoming answers!

- Alan

You choose to fire either your primary or a secondary weapon each turn. You do not fire both.

Yes, the Ion Cannon rolls 3 dice when it fires. Ion Cannons have a Range of 1-2.

Secondary weapons do not use range effects (no bonus attack die at Range 1, no bonus defense die at Range 3). They are subject to obstacles though.

Jim

I see. The red number is the number of attack dice you roll while the number below it is the range of that attack. The part that threw me off was the part about ignoring your fire arc. It just meant the wedge you normally fire from and that it had to be in range 1-2, but you could fire 360 degrees around your ship.

Makes sense now! Thanks for the help!

- Alan

Alan shot first and asked questions later.

magadizer said:

Alan shot first and asked questions later.


DANG STRAIGHT!!!

Generally one just watches in horror as his or her y-wing is blown to tiny space bits by every other ship in the game ;)