Crits and Shields

By alanshotfirst, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Crit hits count as a point of damage against the hull. This I understand.

What I am confused about is that the rules state that when the number of damage cards (including crits) equals your hull value your ship is destroyed.

Let's say the opposing player rolls 3 crits and you defend none of them on your X-Wing with full shields. How do you satisfy 3 crits? Do you have 3 crit cards on that ship with ongoing effects or do you discard two of them with the two shield tokens? If so, how do you choose which crit card to keep? If you keep all three, but only one counts as hull damage do you start a "shield" column for the non-hull hits?

I've looked throughout the forums and can't seem to find the answer.

Thanks for the help!

- Alan

A crit is just like another point of damage if you have shields remaining. You only start getting cards if your shields are at zero.

radiskull said:

A crit is just like another point of damage if you have shields remaining. You only start getting cards if your shields are at zero.

So you only begin to retain critical hits and thus their effects AFTER your shields are at zero?

If that is the case (which sounds logical) how would you determine which of the 3 crits in the scenario above would be your critical effect?

Would you just resolve each crit one at a time from the top of the damage pile and this the decision is not choosing the lesser of the 3 crits but random "chance" coming from the damage deck?

- Alan

this = thus /facepalm

There aren't three crit effects to choose between. You don't actually draw cards unless the damage is going against the hull, even if it's a crit. If evade results or removing a shield token prevents the damage, no card is drawn. So in your instance, two of your crit rolls are negated by shields, the third gets through, and you would draw only one card for that one crit that will take effect.

But IF you are shieldless and suffer 3 crits, you would suffer one crit at a time until you had drawn 3. There's no choosing involved. You may have multiple effects in this fashion.

alanshotfirst said:

Crit hits count as a point of damage against the hull. This I understand.

What I am confused about is that the rules state that when the number of damage cards (including crits) equals your hull value your ship is destroyed.

Let's say the opposing player rolls 3 crits and you defend none of them on your X-Wing with full shields. How do you satisfy 3 crits? Do you have 3 crit cards on that ship with ongoing effects or do you discard two of them with the two shield tokens? If so, how do you choose which crit card to keep? If you keep all three, but only one counts as hull damage do you start a "shield" column for the non-hull hits?

I've looked throughout the forums and can't seem to find the answer.

Thanks for the help!

- Alan

sequence of events:

1) attacker announces attack. With whatever weapon too (eg. normal pewpew, torpedoes, ion cannons etc)

2) attacker checks effects and range and applies any bonuses etc, eg. Wedge vs a range 3 TIE piloted by Dark Curse

3) attacker rolls attack dice.

3.5) attacker spends target lock / focus tokens / uses effects in any order he wishes to.

4) defender rolls evade dice

4.5) defender spends focus tokens / evade tokens / uses effects in any order he wishes to.

5) Normal hits gets cancelled away by evades 1st. If there are any evades left over after all normal hits have been cancelled, Critical hits gets cancelled away.

6) Damage calculation. Any remaining normal hits are taken first. Shields cancel away normal hits 1st, then cancel away critical hits.

6.5) If you do not have any shields left, all hits (normal or crit) goes to your hull as cards. resolve them 1 by 1

eg. Your Xwing took 1 normal hits 3 crits. No evades because you have offended the god of evade dice. your 2 shields cancel away 1 normal hit and 1 crit. You now suffer 2 crits. you take the top-est card of the damage deck and flip it over, read the effect, and eat it. That's critical #1. Now for critical #2, you take the next top-est card, flip it over, and eat it. That's critical #2.

tl;dr, if you have any shield tokens, you will NEVER TAKE ANY DAMAGE TO YOUR HULL, until you run out of shield tokens.

So the ONLY time you take damage cards off the damage deck is when damage is done to your hull. Therefore, if you are dealt any damage with shields, the way you reconcile the damage roll is to remove the shield token from your ship card in front of you.

Am I understanding that correctly now?

- Alan

alanshotfirst said:

So the ONLY time you take damage cards off the damage deck is when damage is done to your hull. Therefore, if you are dealt any damage with shields, the way you reconcile the damage roll is to remove the shield token from your ship card in front of you.

Am I understanding that correctly now?

- Alan

Sounds good. Happy gaming. happy.gif