Damaged Sensor Array question

By Duraham, in X-Wing Rules Questions

How does "damaged sensor array" work with things like dutch vander, squad leader (from someone else) and expert handling (on a ship with the barrel roll icon)?

Damaged Sensor Array: you may not perform any actions listed in your ship's action bar

EDIT: I realized the question here is that what counts as performing a free action? Especially if your ship could perform that same action in the first place under normal circumstances because it has the action icon listed in its action bar. And also why wasn't Dutch Vander's effect errata-ed too along with the expert handling card (although it probably is to help ships that have already taken and used their target lock actions this round to get a target lock again. errata-ing it as a free action would make this impossible, although maybe they could have worded Dutch's effect better? "perform a free "free-action"" or something along those lines)

bump to get answers

I think it should be read and applied strictly… All actions listed on the action bar cannot be "performed" (aka pick actions phase).

Upgrades, pilot special abilities can be performed, unless of course they require a standard action performed first from the action bar (aka torpedos/missiles). Obviously if you already have performed the action before the card was received (target lock) you still would be able to "spent" it.

You also can receive and use free-actions from upgrades/pilot abilities etc IF say squadleader gives you a free action, since the action is your choice, you still would be limited to free action upgrade/pilot cards.

Now the tricky part is… can a ship still perform a barrel roll with that crit card if they have Expert Handling (or more generically, can an upgrade card that is essentially an advanced action)?

I would say yes but with normal penalty (in the case of EH), because after the FAQ it was clear the card was errdata and was edited to include the word action. Now you can perform the action with the crit card, since it is NOT on your action pane, but you DO have to take the red move penalty of Export Handling because the crit damage card "removes" that action from your bar.

The other way to see the above example is though you cannot use the BR action from the pane, the penalty from EH isn't engaged because you do have the action but just can't use it.

Honestly though, EH is probably one of the few upgrades that specifically states (or edited) to be a direct action that would also be on the action pane. Take RD-F2 as an example, you would be able to take that action giving you an additional agility because that action is NOT on your action pane.

i know you cna do a free action even if you do not have the action listed in your action bar, eg. in the case of expert handling on Xwings. However, what if you have the action in your action bar and have damaged sensor array as well, do you still get to do the free action unhindered?

As I alluded to…

If you have squadleader on another ship and they give a free action (that the pilot can select) to the crit affected ship, they they would get a free action but only those available to them, aka NOT on their action pane. They key difference here is that squadleader just gives a free action selection, not a specific action/result.

If Dutch uses his special ability, to give a target lock (when aquires one)… I would say the crit ship could receive it, nothing on the card says the ship has to have the target lock action. Nor does it phrase it in a way to indicate it is a free action.

Expert Handling: This specifically says in the faq that it is the same action. There is a penalty of a red move if the ship does not already have barrel roll. This could go either way, allow or disallow; but the key imo is if allowed the red move penalty (as if not having barrel roll) should apply. Seems like a house rule situation unless further qualified. Though if you go with semantics, you could use EH card with that crit card, it says you can't use actions in the pane, not that it removes them. Thus Expert Handling could be used without penalty because barrel roll is in the action pane, the crit card just says you can't select it.