Sorry, another dumb question…

By legolas18, in Rules questions & answers

Okay, so I have a quick question about Quick Strike. I've been playing the game for a while now, and I've always interpreted Quick Strike as you can attack any enemy, whether it's in the staging area, engaged with you, or engaged with another player. But, I'm wondering… Does "any eligible target" classify as just engaged with you? If so, what about ranged characters? Can they use this to attack an enemy engaged with another player? And I'm also guessing that using this on Dunhere still allows you to use him to attack enemies in the staging area, right?

Thanks

i believe (and id wait for conformation on this) that quick strike can

-let you attack with an enemy engaged with you, or in dunheres case in the staging area

-but not with ranged (ignore this…see below)

rich

I can understand and totally agree with the first half part, Rich, but…what do you mean by " not with ranged" ?

Cutievalkyrie said:

I can understand and totally agree with the first half part, Rich, but…what do you mean by " not with ranged" ?

i see that was probably ambigous- what i meant was that i think quick strike cant work on a character attacking an enemy engaged with another player with ranged…i think it was clarified a while back, but ill check

rich

EDIT- aparently im wrong…(still getting the hang of multi player rules haha) heres thanks to daniel b of BBG

In 1.11 of the latest FAQ there is an example implying that other players' ranged characters may participate in an attack initiated by Quick Strike. There has been some discussion about it at BGG in this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/669360/surprised-that-ot…

My question is, which one of the following is correct:

1: only the one character targeted by quick strike can attack
2: only the one character targeted by quick strike plus ranged characters controlled by other players can attack
3: the character targeted by quick strike plus any ranged characters can attack
4: all eligible characters can attack

Nate French wrote:
Option 2 is correct, it is the interaction of the Quick Strike card and the definition of Ranged in the core rule book.

Nate French
Senior Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

Okay. So I can't attack enemies in the staging area, (unless it's Dunhere) but ranged characters controlled by other players can help the attacker. Thanks!

richsabre said:

EDIT- aparently im wrong…(still getting the hang of multi player rules haha) heres thanks to daniel b of BBG

In 1.11 of the latest FAQ there is an example implying that other players' ranged characters may participate in an attack initiated by Quick Strike. There has been some discussion about it at BGG in this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/669360/surprised-that-ot…

My question is, which one of the following is correct:

1: only the one character targeted by quick strike can attack
2: only the one character targeted by quick strike plus ranged characters controlled by other players can attack
3: the character targeted by quick strike plus any ranged characters can attack
4: all eligible characters can attack

Nate French wrote:
Option 2 is correct, it is the interaction of the Quick Strike card and the definition of Ranged in the core rule book.

Nate French
Senior Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

What you quote here, rich, is outdated information, IMHO. It is pre-FAQ v.1.2 (as quoted as per FAQ 1.11) and now the FAQ version is 1.3. The above ruling has been overruled since version 1.2. In the latest FAQ (version 1.3), P.8:

Q: Can characters with the ranged keyword participate in an attack declared through the card Quick Strike(CORE 35)?

A: No. There is no opportunity for other characters to join a Quick Strike attack. One character is exhausted to pay for the cost of Quick Strike, and the effect is that the exhausted character is immediately declared as an attacker against the target enemy. The card's resolution does not allow for a standard declaration step in which other characters can declare.

So in effect, option 1 of the above quoted is the correct interpretation now.

Now it is clear, but can i use 2 or more quick attacks on different characters and make them attack 1 enemy together?

Ohhh. Okay. Well thanks for the clarifications.

ah its clear now- i could have sworn i had seen that clarification as you state, but when i searched for it, it came up with the earlier FAQ….mystery solved.

@cutievalkyrie- given i have been wrong above (well technically i guess i was right in the first place….**** outdated FAQ), i would again wait for clarification on this, however i would say you cannot do that- the action says immediatly , so there would be no time to let another character join in, and i do not believer doing two actions simulatanously would work

rich

richsabre said:

@cutievalkyrie- given i have been wrong above (well technically i guess i was right in the first place….**** outdated FAQ), i would again wait for clarification on this, however i would say you cannot do that- the action says immediatly , so there would be no time to let another character join in, and i do not believer doing two actions simulatanously would work

rich

Rich is correct. There is no stack of Actions in this game, so you have to play and resolve one action before you can play another action.