This is less of a rules question, and more of a question about gaming etiquette, I think. I was playing a game and rolled 3 hits from my TIE fighter's Range 1 attack. Sweet. My opponent then rolled three dice for his X-wing's evade: 2 evades and a blank. Then I said, "Wait, you were only supposed to roll 2 dice." I suggested that he had to reroll his two dice and ignore anything he just rolled. He wanted to keep a blank and an evade, and throw out the other evade. He conceded, and rolled a blank and a focus, suffering two hits, though the X-wing survived. I felt a little bad.
I suppose we could have rolled on it, like they say in the instructions, but I was curious if there was an already established standard operating procedures in the gaming community regarding this situation. Do you reroll? Does the one who rolled decide which result to throw out? Would I get to choose which one to throw out?
)