Question about rerolling dice

By Parakitor, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Horton Salm's pilot ability allows him to reroll any blanks when he attacks a target at range 2-3. Let's say he used Target Lock this turn and is now attacking with Ion Cannon Turret at a target at Range 2. He rolls 3 dice and gets [hit, blank, blank]. His ability allows him to reroll the blanks, which both come up focus so his attack now stands [hit, focus, focus]. He didn't take focus this round, but he did take Target Lock, and chooses to spend his Target Lock to reroll the two focus results.

BUT WAIT! On page 12 at the bottom of the "Modifying Dice Results" side bar it says, "When a die is changed or rerolled, ignore its original result and apply only the new result. This new result may be modified by other effects; however, a die that has already been rerolled cannot be rerolled again during this attack." That brings my strategy to a screeching halt.

So does the Target Lock count as another effect that can modify the new result, or does it count as a reroll, and each physical die can only be rerolled once in an attack?

Parakitor said:

Horton Salm's pilot ability allows him to reroll any blanks when he attacks a target at range 2-3. Let's say he used Target Lock this turn and is now attacking with Ion Cannon Turret at a target at Range 2. He rolls 3 dice and gets [hit, blank, blank]. His ability allows him to reroll the blanks, which both come up focus so his attack now stands [hit, focus, focus]. He didn't take focus this round, but he did take Target Lock, and chooses to spend his Target Lock to reroll the two focus results.

BUT WAIT! On page 12 at the bottom of the "Modifying Dice Results" side bar it says, "When a die is changed or rerolled, ignore its original result and apply only the new result. This new result may be modified by other effects; however, a die that has already been rerolled cannot be rerolled again during this attack." That brings my strategy to a screeching halt.

So does the Target Lock count as another effect that can modify the new result, or does it count as a reroll, and each physical die can only be rerolled once in an attack?

Target Lock is explicitly a reroll.

Hmm…I'm glad that most of the game I had Horton take the Focus action. I can see why Proton Torpedoes are excellent on him, but Target Lock with Ion Cannon Turret on him is kind of a waste. I also really need to get a full set of dice so I can better keep track of what's been rerolled and what hasn't. It's not a big problem, but having 5 or 6 dice will definitely streamline things.

The way I read it, its an additional reroll. As you have found you cannot reroll the same die twice.

So while you can't use target lock on dice you used Salm's ability to reroll blank dice, but you CAN use it on focus results if you want.