Player Engages vs enemy engagement checks.

By starman, in Rules questions & answers

If a player enagages Forest Spider in does this mean that the Forced ability "After a Forest Spider engages a player " is ignored ?

I have been interpreting the rule as it only comes into effect if the Forest spider enages as the result of an Engagemnt check.

However I have not seen this commented on, so I was wondering if this is correct.

It makes sense thematically but that is hardly an acid test.

they are treated as the same thing, no matter who engages who

same with hummerhorns- you can chose to engaged IT but it will still deal 5 damage

rich

Hummerorns does say after they enage you … I alos read it that if they remain engaged they do not get the bonus in subsequent rounds.

Where does it say in the rules or FAQ that engages you and engages player is the same as Player engages. Surely the initiative would be with the player if he engages and the creature if they engage.

"Whether an enemy is engaged through an engagement
check, through a card effect, or through a player’s
choice, the end result is the same, with the enemy
and the player engaging one another. In all cases, the
player is considered to have engaged the enemy and the
enemy is considered to have engaged the player." (p. 16)

Don't know whether it's sad or what, but this question has been asked so many times, I knew the page number without even thinking about it.

starman said:

Hummerorns does say after they enage you … I alos read it that if they remain engaged they do not get the bonus in subsequent rounds.

Where does it say in the rules or FAQ that engages you and engages player is the same as Player engages. Surely the initiative would be with the player if he engages and the creature if they engage.

i assure you the answer i gave is correct- it has been asked alot so i know for sure

as for the +1 in subsequent rounds, that is a different matter, as the enemy is already engaged with you

however for general purposes 'engages you' and 'you engages it' are the same thing

rich

Thanks , I missed that one.