Preventing troops from exiting vehicles due to overstacking

By TeufelHund666, in Tide of Iron

This siutation came up a while back - my opponent drove up a truck into a space already containing a vehicle and offloaded a squad, intending to move it on to another hex, however I opened up with a squad in op fire and pinned the squad as it exited the vehicle. There are now 3 units in the hex (two vehicles and a pinned squad). My opponent had another squad in his truck but my reading of the rules is that he can't exit it as that would break the hex stacking limit, meaning that until he could move on one or more of the units in the hex, the extra squad is trapped in the truck and thus vunerable should the truck being destroyed.

Does that seem correct?

Yes you are absolutely correct. Space limit is space limit.

Unless your opponent can move that loaded truck again (remove activation token) or remove a pinned token from the squad, then he will have to wait to the next round and hope that your dices will roll badly happy.gif

Hi,

The unit in the truck can exit the truck (2 movement points) as long as it has enough movement points left to move in another hex. The stacking rule (p.9) states that "stacking limits never prevent a unit from moving through a hex full of friendly units (...)". It just can't stop in a hex that's already full.

MB

Good notice MB happy.gif .

But the wording of the mentioned rule is a little complicated.

The squad (exiting the truck) really goes THROUGH the hex, that is already full. In this regard is your notice OK, but it is not clear if the rule covers the situation when a unit STARTS its movement (by exiting a transport) in such a full hex. It then does not really GO THROUGH (if you catch my meaning) the hex, it already IS on the hex and wants to LEAVE it.

It does have meaning but try to think of a situation when this (fourth) unit (exiting from a vehicle) on a hex would be pinned/disrupted and have to retreat to some adjacent hex. This method, if it was legal, could be used as a sure way how to unload a squad from a vehicle. Either you get it out via a normal movement or via a forced retreat. Little strange! sad.gif

I have not met yet such a situation in the game and if I did I would probably not allow the fourth unit to exit a vehicle.

What do think others?

Meta Baston said:

The unit in the truck can exit the truck (2 movement points) as long as it has enough movement points left to move in another hex. The stacking rule (p.9) states that "stacking limits never prevent a unit from moving through a hex full of friendly units (...)". It just can't stop in a hex that's already full.

I believe the rule on p.29 with the language "if by doing so" trumps the "never prevents" language, as it speaks directly to exiting and the other speaks to moving through.

longagoigo said:

I believe the rule on p.29 with the language "if by doing so" trumps the "never prevents" language, as it speaks directly to exiting and the other speaks to moving through.

You're right! I forgot about this particular sentence!

Hi, I am new and trying to follow where on pg 29 youare quoting from? This is just to increase my understanding.

Also, if I have a squad loaded in a transport half track or truck, at the beginning of my turn, I can move the transport to a hex beside an enemy squad. Then I can activate the fresh squad in the transport and exit the transport, using 2 movement points and then assault the enemy squad? Or must I start the turn already out of the transport and then be fresh for the assault. This would seem more likely. But I can't find something explicitly saying so. I am looking at page 12 of the rule book for basic game. The movement examples on page 21 shows how to unload a squad and move, but I could not find the reference to moving in transport and exiting to assault.

Thanks in advance.

page 20 : Fresh squads inside a vehicle may be activated by any action type .

So a squad can exit from a transport and assault an ennemy squad.

flatlander37 said:

Hi, I am new and trying to follow where on pg 29 youare quoting from?

So very sorry, but my hand/eye coordination isn't what it used to be. That should be pg.20, in the transport section, next to last point on the right side.

Thanks! that was quite handy.

smiles . . .

Artemis said:

It does have meaning but try to think of a situation when this (fourth) unit (exiting from a vehicle) on a hex would be pinned/disrupted and have to retreat to some adjacent hex. This method, if it was legal, could be used as a sure way how to unload a squad from a vehicle. Either you get it out via a normal movement or via a forced retreat. Little strange! sad.gif

I have not met yet such a situation in the game and if I did I would probably not allow the fourth unit to exit a vehicle.

What do think others?

This could easily be solved by simply forcing the pinned or disrupted squad to remain in the vehicle rather than retreat.

-Alternativly to retreat in the direction the transport came from.

-Or perhaps some sort of retreat priority should be made.

-Perhaps let the opponent chose where?

Hefsgaard said:

-Alternativly to retreat in the direction the transport came from.

-Or perhaps some sort of retreat priority should be made.

-Perhaps let the opponent chose where?

Or perhaps, just don't try to unload a transport in a hex with other units.

Could be. But I think its more 'real' to have troops wanting to get out and into cover. Besides the hexes and timescale seems to be large enough that units Should be able to manuver through hexes regardless of stacking.

Hefsgaard said:

Could be. But I think its more 'real' to have troops wanting to get out and into cover. Besides the hexes and timescale seems to be large enough that units Should be able to manuver through hexes regardless of stacking.

I believe it is the commander's job to see that an operation is run as smoothly and efficiently as possible. Avoiding bottlenecks and the bunching up of vehicles and troops when transporting is just part of the job. It may not be glamourous, but it has to be done in an effort to avoid the unnecessary loss of life and materials.

unfortunatly the turn sequence does not make that kind of presision possible. there is no 'follow that unit' order avalible either. ;-)