Subsequent hits on a ship with an ion token

By BobMcleish, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Do ships with an ion cannon token roll their defense dice if they come under fire again in the same turn they gain the token? Thematically I'd say no, as the ship is "dead in the water" and unable to evade, but the rules don't seem to say anything about this - unless I'm missing something major….!!

Thanks in advance

RubiconXIV said:

Do ships with an ion cannon token roll their defense dice if they come under fire again in the same turn they gain the token? Thematically I'd say no, as the ship is "dead in the water" and unable to evade, but the rules don't seem to say anything about this - unless I'm missing something major….!!

Thanks in advance

Yes, ships with an ion token still get to roll their Agility for further attacks against them while they have the token. There is nothing in the rules for the effects of an ion cannon shot that prevent full defense against further shots. It may not be thematic, but in game-terms, ion cannons would be way overpowered if they negated defense rolls.

Jim

They are only dead in the water for the following movement phase, so being ionised dosn't effect being shot at at all.