Another stupid question…

By legolas18, in Rules questions & answers

So I was recently playing a scenario and got a Caught In a Web on one of my heroes. Then, I drew Driven by Shadow as a shadow card. This is the second time this has happened to me, and my question is does Caught in a Web count as an attachment that you control? Because I would much rather get rid of that than get rid of Steward of Gondor.

Thanks

Someone correct me if I am mistaken, but I believe you can discard an encounter card attachment via Driven by Shadow because the shadow effect text does not specify that you must control the attachment being discarded (text reads: Choose and discard 1 attachment from the defending character. (If this attack is undefended, discard all the attachment you control.)" If the attack is defended, you can discard any attachment on that character, regardless of control. If undefended, all attachments you control are kaput -- in the latter case, Caught in a Web would stay attached, because you don't control it. For some other shadow effects, like the one on Forest Spider ("Defending player must choose and discard 1 attachment he controls."), you can only target attachments you control (so, can't get rid of Caught in a Web).

I've interpreted this situation just like GrandSpleen explained, and relished the seemingly proper (if unintended) use of a treachery card to my benefit! Hope we're right . . . .

Trouble is that you have to defend with the Caught hero for Driven's shadow effect to work, so you have to know which shadow card was given to the Enemy (Denethor, Henamarth, Dark Knowledge). Otherwise you're just exhausting the hero with Caught and it'll cost you to ready him (barring UC or other readier).

Okay. I see now. I totally missed that "on the defending character " thing. I thought it was player. But thanks for the clarifications, that was a problem that was bugging me for some time.