Target Lock Beyond Range 3 & Swarm Tactics Chains

By MantoF18, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hey Everyone

An interesting idea came up in my game the other night and I wanted to run it by and see what you guys think. Plus I wanted to confirm another rule so…

#1

Target Lock may be done when an enemy ship is within Range 3, but what happens if the Targeted ship moves beyond Range 3? does the target lock get removed? or does it stay?

I have been playing that it stay on the targeted ship because the rules do not say anything about removing a target lock, unless its used during an attack or "expert handled" off. Your thoughts please…

#2

Swarm tactics was discussed quite a bit before on this forum, so I am sorry if this is repetitive but… Can you chain together Swarm Tactics?

Lets say you have Darth Vader (Pilot Skill 9), Howlrunner (Pilot Skill 8) and an Academy Recruit within Range 1 to each other. During the combat phase can Vader Swarm Tactics Howlrunner, who can then in turn Swarm Tactics the Academy Pilot, so that all 3 may shoot before Luke (Pilot Skill 8)?

I have been playing that you can, because I have NOT found a rule to disprove this combo and because previous threads said it was legit :-D

Your thought please…

#3

Finally related to #2. Does the simultaneous fire rule apply, when using swarm tactics? For example If Darth Vader (Pilot Skill 9) is firing at Dutch (Pilot Skill 6), and Wedge (Pilot Skill 9) using swarm tactics on Dutch, can Dutch fire back even if destroyed by Vader's attack.

I have been playing Yes. I think this one is pretty straightforward, but I have not heard anyone talking about it so….

Your thoughts please…

Thanks Forum Friends!

Manto F18

MantoF18 said:

#1

Target Lock may be done when an enemy ship is within Range 3, but what happens if the Targeted ship moves beyond Range 3? does the target lock get removed? or does it stay?

I have been playing that it stay on the targeted ship because the rules do not say anything about removing a target lock, unless its used during an attack or "expert handled" off. Your thoughts please…

Yes, if a ship who is target locked moves out of range 3 the target lock remains.

MantoF18 said:

#2

Swarm tactics was discussed quite a bit before on this forum, so I am sorry if this is repetitive but… Can you chain together Swarm Tactics?

Lets say you have Darth Vader (Pilot Skill 9), Howlrunner (Pilot Skill 8) and an Academy Recruit within Range 1 to each other. During the combat phase can Vader Swarm Tactics Howlrunner, who can then in turn Swarm Tactics the Academy Pilot, so that all 3 may shoot before Luke (Pilot Skill 8)?

I have been playing that you can, because I have NOT found a rule to disprove this combo and because previous threads said it was legit :-D

Your thought please…

Swarm tactics is one of the only things that has been ruled on by FFG. Yes they can be chained.

MantoF18 said:

#3

Finally related to #2. Does the simultaneous fire rule apply, when using swarm tactics? For example If Darth Vader (Pilot Skill 9) is firing at Dutch (Pilot Skill 6), and Wedge (Pilot Skill 9) using swarm tactics on Dutch, can Dutch fire back even if destroyed by Vader's attack.

I have been playing Yes. I think this one is pretty straightforward, but I have not heard anyone talking about it so….

Yes. Since they all have to same Pilot Skill during the Combat Phase, they will all be able to fire back before one dies.

Roy

Do you have a link to where they said they can be chained or was it in an email?

I can confirm it was posted publicly, I just don't have a link.

ShadowJak said:

Do you have a link to where they said they can be chained or was it in an email?

It was in response to a question I sent before the game came out. Rules Question: Swarm Tactics

Roy

Roy is correct:

1. Target lock remains

2. Yes it can be chained

3. Yes, since Dutch's skill is 9 for the turn (due to swarm tactics), the same as Vader's skill, the "simultaneous" rule applies.