Shield of Defiance clarification

By zealot12, in Talisman Rules Questions

" You may use the Shield whenever another character attacks you, but not when you attack another character. If your Strength or Craft is lower than your opponent’s, you are considered to have the same total Strength or Craft as your opponent, including any bonu ses."

Does this object basically leave combat to be decided by the attack roll? Are all bonuses considered to have been added by the attacker(including those that may be gained from stat-modifying spells like Psionic Blast and Bolster , Minotaur's stampede ability, and others?)

zealot12 said:

" You may use the Shield whenever another character attacks you, but not when you attack another character. If your Strength or Craft is lower than your opponent’s, you are considered to have the same total Strength or Craft as your opponent, including any bonu ses."

Does this object basically leave combat to be decided by the attack roll? Are all bonuses considered to have been added by the attacker(including those that may be gained from stat-modifying spells like Psionic Blast and Bolster , Minotaur's stampede ability, and others?)

Anything that adds to the attackers Strength or Craft is also added to the defenders Strength or Craft before the attack rolls are made. However anything that modifies the attackers attack roll (die roll) is not applied to the defenders attack roll!

Ell.