Here's a situation we ran into tonight:
My opponent made a green maneuver with R2-D2, but it cause him to hit an asteroid. He rolled a red die and took a hit from it. The problem was, he started the turn with one hull remaining and no shields. Taking the hit would have destroyed him, but regenerating the shield would absorb the damage and save him. We didn't feel like arguing the point, and just said the damage and shield cancelled each other, but since the R2 text states "After you execute a green maneuver" you regenerate a shield, and he hit the asteroid and took the damage DURING his movement, it seems like he would have taken it to the hull and been destroyed before the regeneration happened. Ultimately it was that ship that killed my last fighter, so the ruling ended up making the difference between a win and a loss.