Asteroid collision VS R2D2

By AlKusanagi, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Here's a situation we ran into tonight:

My opponent made a green maneuver with R2-D2, but it cause him to hit an asteroid. He rolled a red die and took a hit from it. The problem was, he started the turn with one hull remaining and no shields. Taking the hit would have destroyed him, but regenerating the shield would absorb the damage and save him. We didn't feel like arguing the point, and just said the damage and shield cancelled each other, but since the R2 text states "After you execute a green maneuver" you regenerate a shield, and he hit the asteroid and took the damage DURING his movement, it seems like he would have taken it to the hull and been destroyed before the regeneration happened. Ultimately it was that ship that killed my last fighter, so the ruling ended up making the difference between a win and a loss.

I think this one is another that should be submitted to FFG for the FAQ.

I would say as soon as you show you have green on your dial that you get a sheild regend

I think the shield shouldn't regenerate until after maneuver is finished. For asteroids, if any part of the template or the ship overlap an asteroid, you roll for damage. That could happen before the maneuver is complete.

Seems clear to me. After a Green maneuver is exactly that - after, so shields get repaired after the move.

This came up in a game I was playing last night. My opponent had an X-wing upgraded w/ R2-D2. He had full shields and executed a green maneuver through an asteroid.

If the R2-D2 shield upgrade happens first, then there would be no shield upgrade because he was already at full strength…and then he rolls the attack die to see if he takes damage from the asteroid…so it would be possible for the player to lose a shield token if the R2 upgrade goes into effect first.

If the R2-D2 shield upgrade happens at the end of the maneuver, then if the player loses a shield token for passing through the asteroid, he will just get it back due to the R2 upgrade.

This is also significant if the X-wing has no shields. If the R2 upgrade happens first, then he gets a shield before seeing if he took damage from the asteroid. But if the R2 upgrade happens after the maneuver, then he might take hull damage from the asteroid and then regenerate shields afterwards.

It sounds like from what everyone is saying is that it's the latter…shields are regenerated after the maneuver, so if the X-wing had no shields it might take hull damage from the asteroid before regenerating shields.

My call would be damage before the repair. The collision happend before the move was finished, so the recharge hasn't happened yet. It would allow the R2 equipped fighter to ignore an initial asteroid hit though which is interesting.

Worthy of a FAQ though for sure.

Agreed. The wording on R2-D2 says after the green maneuver is completed, not revealed. The collision happens during movement. At the time of the collision, the maneuver has not yet been completed, so R2's ability has not yet occurred.

Sounds like someone took Han Solo's advice too much to heart: "Fly casual." You can resolve this issue by not flying into asteroids! happy.gif

In all seriousness, I think you should get to recharge the shields, and this is why: in the rules, when you try to execute a koiogran turn, but your ship would overlap bases, you have to move it back, but it still counts as a RED maneuver. By extension, we have been playing that if you were trying to do a GREEN maneuver, you still get the benefit of that even if it would end in a base overlap and you can't complete the maneuver. I don't think this is explicitly confirmed in the rules either.

So by a further extension of this principle, I would say that you get the green benefit for the maneuver. I know that collisions and base overlaps are separate issues, but I see it as a similar enough situation that this is how I would play it until an official ruling came out.

I think this needs to be addressed by the FAQ though.

magadizer said:

Sounds like someone took Han Solo's advice too much to heart: "Fly casual." You can resolve this issue by not flying into asteroids! happy.gif

In all seriousness, I think you should get to recharge the shields, and this is why: in the rules, when you try to execute a koiogran turn, but your ship would overlap bases, you have to move it back, but it still counts as a RED maneuver. By extension, we have been playing that if you were trying to do a GREEN maneuver, you still get the benefit of that even if it would end in a base overlap and you can't complete the maneuver. I don't think this is explicitly confirmed in the rules either.

So by a further extension of this principle, I would say that you get the green benefit for the maneuver. I know that collisions and base overlaps are separate issues, but I see it as a similar enough situation that this is how I would play it until an official ruling came out.

I think this needs to be addressed by the FAQ though.

The question isn't really whether you'd get to recharge shields… the question is in the timing. I think that the damage from the asteroid would occur before the shield recharging (which sometimes would be a good thing and sometimes a bad thing), but I'm not sure I can prove that.

As dbmeboy said. It isn't a question of whether the shield gets recharged or not, so the comparison fails. The shield gets recharged. The question is whether the shield recharges before the hit from the asteroid or not.

Based on the wording, the shield does not recharge until the green maneuver is completed. Before the maneuver is completed, the ship must interact with the asteroid, which means that it has not regenerated the shield yet. It will do so once the ship completes its movement.

I suppose you could have a really interesting situation then where you have a ship with no hull points and one shield point. gui%C3%B1o.gif